School Shootings and Veteran Suicide rates connected?

Pop23

Gold Member
Mar 28, 2013
The barstool down yonder
After debating a retired Military individual about Gun Violence I came across some startling information. That was that, returning soldiers had a startling rate of Violent Criminal convictions. I studied this a bit and was shocked at the connection that SSRI Antidepressants had with not only School Shootings (evidence shows that most school shooters were on this class of medication), but linked to the enormous increase in Veteran Suicides and their Violent Criminal behavior.

Is this the price of Freedom?

Source: Antidepressants Cause Suicide and Violence in Soldiers | HuffPost

From the Source:

"Here are the starting facts: Death by suicide is at record levels in the armed services. Simultaneously the use of antidepressant drugs is also at record levels, including brand names like Prozac, Zoloft, Paxil, Celexa and Lexapro.

According to the army, in 2007 17% of combat troops in Afghanistan were taking prescription antidepressants or sleeping pills. Inside sources have given me an even bleaker picture: During Vietnam, a mere 1% our troops were taking prescribed psychiatric drugs. By contrast, in the past year one-third of marines in combat zones were taking psychiatric drugs.

Are the pills helping? The army confirms that since 2002 the number of suicide attempts has increased six-fold. And more than 128 soldiers killed themselves last year.