8GB vs 4 GB RAM (For 2-in-1)

Discussion in 'Computers' started by TheGreatGatsby, May 27, 2018.

  1. 007
    Offline

    007 Charter Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    41,134
    Thanks Received:
    8,470
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Ratings:
    +15,707
    No way is it going to be obsolete in two months, or even two years.
     
  2. WheelieAddict
    Offline

    WheelieAddict Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,793
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Trophy Points:
    245
    Ratings:
    +3,579
    lol it sucks how tech prices change and how quickly your shiny new rig becomes "obsolete"
     
  3. TheGreatGatsby
    Offline

    TheGreatGatsby Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    23,753
    Thanks Received:
    2,804
    Trophy Points:
    280
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +8,855
    My thinking is how much could I regret $550 if I find it lags some? Then again on the other shoe, $400-$600 more to avoid that potential issue. I would honestly spend more to not have the issue. I am just seeing if there's a chance I won't.
     
  4. TheGreatGatsby
    Offline

    TheGreatGatsby Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    23,753
    Thanks Received:
    2,804
    Trophy Points:
    280
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +8,855
    Anyone know why the chromebooks are considerably cheaper than other laptops and 2-in-1's with similar specs?
     
  5. WheelieAddict
    Offline

    WheelieAddict Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,793
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Trophy Points:
    245
    Ratings:
    +3,579
    For just "office" or playing vids and browsing type use 8gb should be good for awhile. You called it earlier with the SSD they really are worth it to speed up operating system and programs. They are good for speeding up an older system too but not a magic bullet as memory or even processor if its old enough can hold you back.
     
  6. 007
    Offline

    007 Charter Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    41,134
    Thanks Received:
    8,470
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Ratings:
    +15,707
    The only way you're going to get an SSD is if you buy a new computer with one installed on the mother board, and as far as watching videos, that depends greatly on your internet connection download speed. Cable is best. Even a slow computer can play video without digital lock up if it has a fast internet connection. Gaming is different, that requires RAM.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. WheelieAddict
    Offline

    WheelieAddict Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,793
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Trophy Points:
    245
    Ratings:
    +3,579
    As long as you aren't doing demanding stuff like rendering or autocad or something a modern processor with 8gb memory and an SSD is going to be plenty fast for years.
     
  8. WheelieAddict
    Offline

    WheelieAddict Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,793
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Trophy Points:
    245
    Ratings:
    +3,579
    As long as you have an available sata connection you can install a SSD. Laptop I would buy with it installed though taking those apart isn't easy.
     
  9. Moonglow
    Offline

    Moonglow BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    120,286
    Thanks Received:
    10,752
    Trophy Points:
    2,070
    Location:
    sw mizzouri
    Ratings:
    +50,742
    I have a 2T Random Access Memory with forced air intake and nitro canisters.
     
  10. WheelieAddict
    Offline

    WheelieAddict Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,793
    Thanks Received:
    798
    Trophy Points:
    245
    Ratings:
    +3,579
    Sounds like some expensive memory you should overclock it.
     

Share This Page