PE, a joke?

Discussion in 'Education' started by Cain, Feb 8, 2011.

1. Cain

Cain Air Force DEP

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +60
    So, I am in my last year of school (12th Grade), and I am ready to get out of here and go to my Basic, but I have always wondered, is every school's PE a joke? Mine is and was. I mean, the hardest thing you will ever do in it is run a mile, or in high school, the locker rooms (considering how you fare with other males in a hostile environment). I thought the locker rooms where rather hilarious cause it was where the bigger kids always tried to pick on smaller ones. I have always been smaller in height, but size wise I could hold my own against anyone in Weight Lifting easily.

I wish I had been raised with a 'rougher' type of PE. I mean, a mile is ok too me, for maybe grade school, but I think high school should be more challenging. Maybe a 2 mile run, with push-ups/sit-ups/flutter-kicks/pull-ups? Granted, this isn't the military, BUT, imagine how much better people would feel if their PE was a challenge? It'd make PE so much more fun to a lot of people I know. I mean, most of the kids in my school can't do 1 chin up, least to say pull ups.

I know this may sound brutal, but really, what is asking that everyone be able to do 20 push-ups? That's really not a lot, especially if you do them in every gym class let's say 3-4 sets of 10 every gym class, and then every 6 weeks a test on the 20? Not a lot when your doing 30-40 every class in sets.

Does this sound like a bad idea? I am one of those whom couldn't do a mile for a long time, why? I didn't believe I could. I still have issues running, but I know for a fact I can do 1 when I had a recruiter push me to well over 3 1/2 miles in a run with a lot of Calisthenics. If I can do that, what's to say others can't do 2?

2. skookerasbil

skookerasbil Gold Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +6,193