Greetings from Finland

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Sodafin, Dec 19, 2009.

1. Sodafin

Sodafin Senior Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +49
    Hi everyone,

I'm from Helsinki, Finland. I'm a journalist, so any thoughts you have on the leftist media conspiracy, please take them somewhere else.

On the other hand, I work a lot in conflict zones and the Third World, so hopefully there will be some interesting discussion on some of those places too.

2. Si modo

Si modo Diamond Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +8,703
    Welcome!

3. midcan5

midcan5 liberal / progressive

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +3,299
    Welcome. We hope to travel up your way some day, it appears to be a beautiful place.

"If by a 'Liberal' they mean someone who looks ahead and not behind, someone who welcomes new ideas without rigid reactions, someone who cares about the welfare of the people -their health, their housing, their schools, their jobs, their civil rights, and their civil liberties -- someone who believes we can break through the stalemate and suspicions that grip us in our policies abroad, if that is what they mean by a 'Liberal,' then I'm proud to say I'm a 'Liberal.'" President John F Kennedy on September 14, 1960

4. Bfgrn

Bfgrn Gold Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +3,060
    Welcome! Tell me about Finland's well regarded educational system?

5. code1211

code1211 Senior Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +845

Greetings.

In the USA, there is a move afoot to nationalize healthcare insurance. The actual healthcare will still be privately provided. This will be private industry directed by government interests much along the model of the Nazis some years back or of the California utilities more recently. Obviously, the Nazis were more successful.