Forgotten heroes: Tribute to police officers. Please dont move.

bucs90

Gold Member
Feb 25, 2010
Politics and politicians affect so many people, but none more than cops, who are the buffer between moronic politicians and the people. Without cops to pick and choose which laws are plain stupid and refuse to enforce, and which are necessary for a society, we would be subject to every stupid idea some moron in office thought should be law.

Since 4:00 pm yesterday, over 15 cops have been shot. 2010 was one of the worst years ever for cops killed on duty. 2011 is starting off just as bad. Community policing has weakened the image of a cop from a big, strong man who enforces laws, to a mere community service person who is there to literally serve whining citizens. Add to that a growing hatred of cops, which stems from both the individual, and issues in society that add to a bad image of cops.

As a former cop, I want to thank all the men and women who put on a vest, badge and gun and take the safety of strangers into their own hands at the risk of their own lives. In my brief time behind the badge, I realized the following:

The general public often demands of cops:

- The knowledge of a lawyer- they expect a cop to know everything about every law, and be able to recall it on the side of a street at a seconds notice. The job demands common sense as well as book knowledge. Anyone who thinks otherwise is truly ignorant. There are no dumb cops. Lazy ones yes. Corrupt ones, sometimes. Lack of commons sense? Some of the rookies who wont last long, yes. Dumb? None.
- The courage of a soldier- they expect a cop to run into a gunfire situation, against superior firepower many times, without hesitation.