Help

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Terry, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. Terry
    Offline

    Terry Shut the $%$ Up!

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,222
    Thanks Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +1,091
    I'm trying to help a friend over the phone who cannot get on the internet. He was on the phone with Tech Microsoft who I think made matters worse.

    My friend is running XP Home, but tech had him install on a slave drive XP Pro

    Friend I call bob, cannot access his main hard drive at all, but can see the files via windows explorer but really cannot access the files.

    On the slave drive under device manger Yellow Question Mark are under Ethernet, Bus controller, video controller and audio. When working with Bob and trying to update driver we kept getting a code 28. Bob doesn't have a disk with drivers. What to do?
     
  2. RadiomanATL
    Offline

    RadiomanATL Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    24,944
    Thanks Received:
    3,823
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not here
    Ratings:
    +3,836
    Tell Bob that slavery has been outlawed. He better let his drives go.
     
  3. Terry
    Offline

    Terry Shut the $%$ Up!

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,222
    Thanks Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +1,091
    seriously.

    All I know his motherboard is an Asus A7nx82 AMD 1500+

    I searched for drivers and not sure I downloaded the correct lan driver but cannot find the other stuff. Bob isn't sure which either.
     
  4. RadiomanATL
    Offline

    RadiomanATL Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    24,944
    Thanks Received:
    3,823
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not here
    Ratings:
    +3,836
    Tell mother that its going to all end badly if she hides the true reason for setting down on that planet.
     
  5. Ringel05
    Online

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40,304
    Thanks Received:
    8,017
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +17,435
    You're saying he has two separate HDs, right?
     
  6. Terry
    Offline

    Terry Shut the $%$ Up!

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,222
    Thanks Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +1,091
    One hard drive, and partioned a drive to add the xp pro
     
  7. Ringel05
    Online

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40,304
    Thanks Received:
    8,017
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +17,435
    I'm trying to understand but I'm not getting it. One non-partitioned HD plus one additional partitioned HD or one partitioned HD only?

    If it is one HD only that was partitioned without back up then that is more than likely the problem. If he has two HDs he needs to check the jumper settings on the back of each one to make sure one is marked as Master and the other is maked as Slave or Cable Select.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2009
  8. RadiomanATL
    Offline

    RadiomanATL Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    24,944
    Thanks Received:
    3,823
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Not here
    Ratings:
    +3,836
    My HD is partitioned as well.

    Garden department to the right, lumber to the left.
     
  9. Terry
    Offline

    Terry Shut the $%$ Up!

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,222
    Thanks Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +1,091
    I found his drivers I think.

    Mainboard A7N8X2.0 ASUS Socket A

    ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-

    oh select WinXP as os
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2009
  10. Terry
    Offline

    Terry Shut the $%$ Up!

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,222
    Thanks Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +1,091
    I'll have to mail him the drivers and he lives out of state :(

    He has two drives I learned. He has WinXP on one and when he turns his PC on he sees the bar and just before the Windows login screen his pc just goes black. When he tried to enter safe mode the same thing happens. I had him go into dos prompt to check disc and that didn't help.

    Microsoft tech had him install xp pro on a different drive, on that there is no drivers for the list I listed in prior post. So he cannot access the internet to download the drivers.

    He would like to get his other C drive working but I have no idea why his PC will not boot up to windows. It could be many things causing it.
     

Share This Page