Ayone ever use self-solder butt splice connectors?

progressive hunter

Platinum Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2018
Messages
24,546
Reaction score
10,257
Points
950
I wouldnt take anything crepe says as fact,, I've heard nothing but good things about them,,
my son uses them everyday doing commercial HVAC,,,
It's not like it would be any more of a bother using a soldering iron and heat shrink tubing, though. And that way I know for a fact that it'd hold up. I'm gonna take his word for it on it. A lot of heat comes off that block and I dunno how cheap the solder is they use in those pre-solder butts. I think I recall him mentioning that he built a c4 track car or something like that, so I don't think he'd tinker around with me about something dumb like that, even if he does hate my guts.

I could see where they might hold up better when they're not being hit with a constant heat source after installation, though.
The problem I've had is separation under heavy load. External heat hasn't been the problem, it's like the solder melts at too low a temperature. It's just better to do it right the first time.

heavy load from what??

whats your application??
 

Pogo

Diamond Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2012
Messages
120,795
Reaction score
21,080
Points
2,190
Location
Fennario
These things....


I'm just wondering how that solder holds up over time.

I replaced a coolant temp sensor on my vette a few days ago and, wouldn't you know it, just as soon as I got finished and put everything back together that I had to remove to replace the sensor, my elbow hit the throttle position sensor connector and snapped it in half.

So now I have to replace that busted throttle position sensor connector with a new pigtail/connector.

Was thinking about using these self-solder butt connectors instead of crimping and heat shrinking. But I dunno.
Haven't tried it but it looks like more trouble than simple soldering/crimping.
 

KissMy

Free Breast Exam
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
16,463
Reaction score
3,344
Points
255
Location
In your head
My brother swears by self-solder butt splice connectors.

I have only soldiered & heat shrink.

The crimp one's are junk!
 

Crepitus

Diamond Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
42,288
Reaction score
9,483
Points
2,040
I wouldnt take anything crepe says as fact,, I've heard nothing but good things about them,,
my son uses them everyday doing commercial HVAC,,,
It's not like it would be any more of a bother using a soldering iron and heat shrink tubing, though. And that way I know for a fact that it'd hold up. I'm gonna take his word for it on it. A lot of heat comes off that block and I dunno how cheap the solder is they use in those pre-solder butts. I think I recall him mentioning that he built a c4 track car or something like that, so I don't think he'd tinker around with me about something dumb like that, even if he does hate my guts.

I could see where they might hold up better when they're not being hit with a constant heat source after installation, though.
The problem I've had is separation under heavy load. External heat hasn't been the problem, it's like the solder melts at too low a temperature. It's just better to do it right the first time.

heavy load from what??

whats your application??
I've had it happen on a winch on a truck (when I really needed it) and power for amplifiers.
 

Chuz Life

Gold Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2015
Messages
8,761
Reaction score
3,189
Points
345
Location
USA
I have used the "crimp on" type butt splices for more than 30 years. Never tried the self solder type. Your best (must reliable) splice is to strip, solder and heat shrink the wires together and then protect with looming or tape. ANYTHING less should only be done in case of emergency or as a temp solution.
 

progressive hunter

Platinum Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2018
Messages
24,546
Reaction score
10,257
Points
950
I wouldnt take anything crepe says as fact,, I've heard nothing but good things about them,,
my son uses them everyday doing commercial HVAC,,,
It's not like it would be any more of a bother using a soldering iron and heat shrink tubing, though. And that way I know for a fact that it'd hold up. I'm gonna take his word for it on it. A lot of heat comes off that block and I dunno how cheap the solder is they use in those pre-solder butts. I think I recall him mentioning that he built a c4 track car or something like that, so I don't think he'd tinker around with me about something dumb like that, even if he does hate my guts.

I could see where they might hold up better when they're not being hit with a constant heat source after installation, though.
The problem I've had is separation under heavy load. External heat hasn't been the problem, it's like the solder melts at too low a temperature. It's just better to do it right the first time.

heavy load from what??

whats your application??
I've had it happen on a winch on a truck (when I really needed it) and power for amplifiers.
well theres you problem,, a winch and big amps requires a heavy duty connection not a simple crimp and solder,,, in fact I dont think they make those type of connectors for that size wire,,

anyways,, his TPS switch is working in milli-amps and milli-volts and that would never be a problem,
 

progressive hunter

Platinum Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2018
Messages
24,546
Reaction score
10,257
Points
950

Tax Man

Gold Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2015
Messages
5,069
Reaction score
636
Points
170
I do not splice electric wires in automobiles.
then youve never been a car mechanic,,,
I have had an auto repair shop for 40 plus years.
so everytime you need to fix a broken wire you cut open the wire harness and trace all the way back to the source??

I call bullshit,,,
Sadly I do not brake wires. The vehicles I work on have good wiring and when I install electric brake equipment for trailers I run all new wires.
 

progressive hunter

Platinum Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2018
Messages
24,546
Reaction score
10,257
Points
950
I do not splice electric wires in automobiles.
then youve never been a car mechanic,,,
I have had an auto repair shop for 40 plus years.
so everytime you need to fix a broken wire you cut open the wire harness and trace all the way back to the source??

I call bullshit,,,
Sadly I do not brake wires. The vehicles I work on have good wiring and when I install electric brake equipment for trailers I run all new wires.

when did I say you broke wires???

what I asked is if you have a broken wire or need to install a pigtail do you cut open the wire harness and trace all the way back to the source??
 

progressive hunter

Platinum Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2018
Messages
24,546
Reaction score
10,257
Points
950
I do not splice electric wires in automobiles.
then youve never been a car mechanic,,,
I have had an auto repair shop for 40 plus years.
so everytime you need to fix a broken wire you cut open the wire harness and trace all the way back to the source??

I call bullshit,,,
Sadly I do not brake wires. The vehicles I work on have good wiring and when I install electric brake equipment for trailers I run all new wires.

when did I say you broke wires???

what I asked is if you have a broken wire or need to install a pigtail do you cut open the wire harness and trace all the way back to the source??
taxman you there??
 

Tax Man

Gold Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2015
Messages
5,069
Reaction score
636
Points
170
I do not splice electric wires in automobiles.
then youve never been a car mechanic,,,
I have had an auto repair shop for 40 plus years.
so everytime you need to fix a broken wire you cut open the wire harness and trace all the way back to the source??

I call bullshit,,,
Sadly I do not brake wires. The vehicles I work on have good wiring and when I install electric brake equipment for trailers I run all new wires.

when did I say you broke wires???

what I asked is if you have a broken wire or need to install a pigtail do you cut open the wire harness and trace all the way back to the source??
taxman you there??
I run a new wire from source to use.
 

progressive hunter

Platinum Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2018
Messages
24,546
Reaction score
10,257
Points
950
I do not splice electric wires in automobiles.
then youve never been a car mechanic,,,
I have had an auto repair shop for 40 plus years.
so everytime you need to fix a broken wire you cut open the wire harness and trace all the way back to the source??

I call bullshit,,,
Sadly I do not brake wires. The vehicles I work on have good wiring and when I install electric brake equipment for trailers I run all new wires.

when did I say you broke wires???

what I asked is if you have a broken wire or need to install a pigtail do you cut open the wire harness and trace all the way back to the source??
taxman you there??
I run a new wire from source to use.
hahahahahaha,,,

youre cheating your costumers,,,
 

Tax Man

Gold Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2015
Messages
5,069
Reaction score
636
Points
170
I do not splice electric wires in automobiles.
then youve never been a car mechanic,,,
I have had an auto repair shop for 40 plus years.
so everytime you need to fix a broken wire you cut open the wire harness and trace all the way back to the source??

I call bullshit,,,
Sadly I do not brake wires. The vehicles I work on have good wiring and when I install electric brake equipment for trailers I run all new wires.

when did I say you broke wires???

what I asked is if you have a broken wire or need to install a pigtail do you cut open the wire harness and trace all the way back to the source??
taxman you there??
I run a new wire from source to use.
hahahahahaha,,,

youre cheating your costumers,,,
You spend more time dilly dallying around to splice a wire that is more easily replaced in total and has not weak spots.
 

progressive hunter

Platinum Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2018
Messages
24,546
Reaction score
10,257
Points
950
I do not splice electric wires in automobiles.
then youve never been a car mechanic,,,
I have had an auto repair shop for 40 plus years.
so everytime you need to fix a broken wire you cut open the wire harness and trace all the way back to the source??

I call bullshit,,,
Sadly I do not brake wires. The vehicles I work on have good wiring and when I install electric brake equipment for trailers I run all new wires.

when did I say you broke wires???

what I asked is if you have a broken wire or need to install a pigtail do you cut open the wire harness and trace all the way back to the source??
taxman you there??
I run a new wire from source to use.
hahahahahaha,,,

youre cheating your costumers,,,
You spend more time dilly dallying around to splice a wire that is more easily replaced in total and has not weak spots.
only thieves or idiots take more than 30 seconds to splice a wire properly,,,

my guess is youre lying,, cause only an idiot would cut open 5 ft of wire harness to put in a TPS pigtail,, not to mention most times you cant even access the harness without removal of major components,,
 

Tax Man

Gold Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2015
Messages
5,069
Reaction score
636
Points
170
I do not splice electric wires in automobiles.
then youve never been a car mechanic,,,
I have had an auto repair shop for 40 plus years.
so everytime you need to fix a broken wire you cut open the wire harness and trace all the way back to the source??

I call bullshit,,,
Sadly I do not brake wires. The vehicles I work on have good wiring and when I install electric brake equipment for trailers I run all new wires.

when did I say you broke wires???

what I asked is if you have a broken wire or need to install a pigtail do you cut open the wire harness and trace all the way back to the source??
taxman you there??
I run a new wire from source to use.
hahahahahaha,,,

youre cheating your costumers,,,
You spend more time dilly dallying around to splice a wire that is more easily replaced in total and has not weak spots.
only thieves or idiots take more than 30 seconds to splice a wire properly,,,

my guess is youre lying,, cause only an idiot would cut open 5 ft of wire harness to put in a TPS pigtail,, not to mention most times you cant even access the harness without removal of major components,,
hahahahahahahahaha
 
OP
Natural Citizen

Natural Citizen

Platinum Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2016
Messages
13,168
Reaction score
6,105
Points
430
I run a new wire from source to use.
I've got to rebuild a wiring harness coming from the firewall to the forward and turn lamps and cooling fans. The previous owner of my vette did a bubba number on it when he bypassed the fans.

I've put it off for almost two years.

The wiring diagrams in the factory service manual confuse me, though. Well, to be clear, I think I just need to learn how the numbers coincide with wire gauges and that kind of thing. I'm able to follow the wire routing on the diagrams from the ecm and then the relays that are involved.

Screen Shot 31.jpg
 
Last edited:

Tax Man

Gold Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2015
Messages
5,069
Reaction score
636
Points
170
I run a new wire from source to use.
I've got to rebuild a wiring harness coming from the firewall to the forward and turn lamps and cooling fans. The previous owner of my vette did a bubba number on it when he bypassed the fans.

I've put it off for almost two years.

The wiring diagrams in the factory service manual confuse me, though. Well, to be clear, I think I just need to learn how the numbers coincide with wire gauges and that kind of thing. I'm able to follow the wire routing on the diagrams from the ecm and then the relays that are involved.

View attachment 442322
Wire size is not a bigge. The smaller the number the bigger the wire. I think you would be best off to use wire end connectors for the rewire. Most use a slip on connector and a few use a "screw through center" connector.
 

New Topics

Most reactions - Past 7 days

Forum List

Top