Vatican Weighs In Again on ID

Discussion in 'Religion and Ethics' started by Annie, Jan 19, 2006.

1. Annie

Annie Diamond Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +4,770
    Like I've said about teaching ID in Catholic schools, shouldn't be finding ID or creationism in science classes:

http://www.nytimes.com/2006/01/19/s.../19evolution.html?th=&emc=th&pagewanted=print

2. liberalogic

liberalogic Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +49
    Yes! Intelligent Design should NOT be in PUBLIC schools! Thank you!

Now I have a question for you-- do you think that in public schools, those who are religious and do not believe in evolution and feel that it contradicts from their beliefs should be exempt from that study?

I've been tossing that around for a few months now because so many people say that evolution is contradicts their beliefs, so do you think that would be adequate to resolve the issue?

3. 5stringJeff

5stringJeff Senior Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +540
    I think an even better solution would be to discuss both sides of evolution - allow the theory to be taught, then discuss the problems with evolutionary theory.

4. liberalogic

liberalogic Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +49

That's a great idea! It promotes scientific inquiry and investigation, while leaving the door open for religious views. Great point!

5. Nienna

Nienna Senior Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +333
    I go a step farther in my views. I not only embrace ID, but, what's more, I teach my children Creation Science. Many proponents of ID simply take the theory of evolution and tack on God. I, on the other hand, believe that the creation process went exactly as stated in Genesis.

However, I do NOT want my children excluded from studying evolution in school. As Jeff said, I do wish they would point out the flaws in the theory instead of just stating it as fact. However, I think kids should learn the theories that are out there, ie. evolution.