crontab files

Discussion in 'Computers' started by jimnyc, Nov 7, 2003.

  1. jimnyc
    Offline

    jimnyc ...

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,113
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +246
    Anyone know of an acceptable "notepad editor" that will be suitable for making the crontab files?

    Here's why I ask:

    I've been using the same cron job on my host to run various tasks, and they just stopped running about 3 days ago. The first day I let slide, then called tech support to find out why after the 2nd day (I don't have any shell access)

    I was told they were performing upgrades and they should be working within an hour. Then I called back and they said 6 hours. They still weren't working today. Mind you, NOTHING was changed on my end the entire time.

    I called yet again today and a supervisor explained to me that I am not the only one having issues and they are working on it. He promised personal service and it would be working by the end of the day.

    Well, he did get my jobs to start running again, but they laid the blame on me. They now say everything is fine, and has been, on their end. They said they found line breaks (a few enter strokes) at the end of my commands, and this is only visible when viewing the crontab file via Unix.

    I don't understand their explanation as this is the same file that has been running flawlessly for quite some time. Anyway...

    Anyone know of an editor that will allow me to see ALL of a text file, as he say's Unix does?
     
  2. dijetlo
    Online

    dijetlo Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    >>Anyone know of an acceptable "notepad editor" that will be suitable for making the crontab files?<<

    I use the 32 bit version of this one.

    It also gives you a hex view and some debugging features
     
  3. dijetlo
    Online

    dijetlo Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey, just open a session and do it in VI. If your just editing crontab files it'll take thirty seconds to learn the commands, type vi? and look for a tutorial.
    The beauty of vi is it runs natively. You never have to worry about passing over inadvertent formating commands (and your server is allready running it.) The final bonus is it impresses dinosours like me when some bright guy shows valuable cross platform skills
     
  4. jimnyc
    Offline

    jimnyc ...

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,113
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +246
    Downloaded UltraEdit32 and am going to toy with it, looks pretty good so far. Got another really good one from Eric. Looks like the UltraEdit costs $$$!! I hate having to pay. :D

    I wish I could use the vi editor, I am actually familiar with it. Unfortunately, my host doesn't allow any other access than FTP for manipulating our files. They claim they got rid of shell and telnet for security reasons.

    Thanks!
     
  5. eric
    Online

    eric Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    The host is full of crap. They just do not want the headaches of answer tech support calls concerning these services. Securing these services is not that difficult.
     
  6. jimnyc
    Offline

    jimnyc ...

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,113
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +246
    Not to mention they would save themselves calls anyway, for users that can't do their jobs properly without such access.

    I'm going to switch hosts eventually, be assured I'll have a new list of features I need this time, proper access to my account for starters.
     
  7. jimnyc
    Offline

    jimnyc ...

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,113
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +246
    Ok, I think I finally got things working properly again. The changes they made on the back end that affected cron jobs must have also changed they way it reads the file.

    I tried it with no line breaks and it wouldn't work.

    I tried it with 2 line breaks (which is what my provider suggests on their support pages) and it wouldn't work.

    Tried 3 lines and it wouldn't work.

    I then tried it with * * * * * at the beginning with just one line break, and it started running every minute. I then changed it to 55 5 * * * and it ran as scheduled at 5:55am Cali time. Appears the one line break is what made the difference.

    BTW - I did use UltraEdit32 to create the crontab, so thanks, dijetlo! (although I won't pay for a program just to simply create an occasional text file)
     
  8. dijetlo
    Online

    dijetlo Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    >>although I won't pay for a program just to simply create an occasional text file<<
    I agree, but then I'm not wrangling with uncooperative UNIX admins. :D
    Which prog does eric recommend, I'd like to take a look at it?
     
  9. SinisterMotives
    Online

    SinisterMotives Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I use UltraEdit myself, Jim, and I can't live without it. The last I heard, UE is the only product the guy makes, and he's obsessed with quality. It's well worth the price.
     
  10. jimnyc
    Offline

    jimnyc ...

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,113
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +246
    I must admit, it did solve my problems in the short term. I've since moved to a host where it's no longer necessary. Sadly, my free trial has ran out and I can't see paying to register when I'll rarely, if ever, use the program.
     

Share This Page