Solar System Late June

toobfreak

Tungsten/Glass Member
Apr 29, 2017
On The Way Home To Earth
An astro-imaging student of mine posted some of his latest work of the midnight to early morning targets of Jupiter, Saturn and Mars to my private astronomy group. I've been coaching him for about ten years or so and he is now pretty thick with a few folks at NASA and has done some still image and video work for them promoting the Apollo and other lunar missions.

He took these images around June 25 with an 11-inch CAT Celestron SCT telescope using digital camera (I didn't ask him what he is using now, but typically a video camera which then you stack the best several hundred to few thousand frames in order to integrate around the best moments of seeing).

His originals were pretty tightly cropped, I'll post those then my reprocess of each including a few comments:

JUPITER:
2020-06-25-0748_2-VO-RGB_lapl7_ap25_Reg_PS.jpg

My reprocess. Noise limited the amount possible here to mainly a bit more color saturation and color depth.

New June Jupiter-Gary.jpg

MARS:
2020-06-25-0927_4-VO-RGB_lapl6_ap14_Reg_PS.jpg

My reprocess. It takes careful study of details to see subtle changes here, especually due to change in scale here due to display. Interesting angle.

New June Mars-Gary.jpg

Finally, SATURN:
Saturn 2020-06-25.jpg

My reprocess: Though everything is enhanced here, one of the biggest and easiest things to note is the change to the rings. The entire image is bolder, but the rings have been reprocessed to make them appear much more like in real life and less flat, with the outer ring darker and the inner ring much whiter and brighter.

New June Saturn-Gary.jpg

Lastly, here is a photo he took of himself looking through a scope at Lick Observatory. I reprocessed it a bit to bring out much more the stars and Milky Way outside the dome.

IMG_5216-9.jpg

Hope you enjoyed. Toob.