Bull Ring Anonymous1977: emilynghiem is Asian I support Freedmen's Town plan for Constitutional equality

emilynghiem

Constitutionalist / Universalist
Jan 21, 2010
National Freedmen's Town District
Anonymous1977 has taken it upon himself to trash me because I "smell White" and thus am associated in his mind with White bigotry against Blacks.

I have no idea where he got this, and ask him to explain.

I am Asian American, born of Vietnamese Buddhist parents in Galveston, Texas.

The Freed Slaves who built Freedmen's Town came out of the Galveston/Port Bolivar area
and the historic houses remind me of the neighborhoods I grew up in. Galveston has done
a better job of preserving the historic buildings from this same era, but Houston is run by developer interests.

My interest in Freedmen's Town first came up because the plans to restore the national historic district as a campus was based on campus plans from Rice University where I graduated. Since Rice shares a similar history with segregation out of the Civil Rights Era, this made sense that a solution would come from a partnership with education as the common principle to build upon.

Unfortunately these campus plans got smashed and censored by the City of Houston abusing public authority to evict the residents, tear down 2/3 of the national historic landmark the residents planned to renovate as a campus, and took advantage of denying the right of the residents "peaceably to assemble" to petition to defend their equal rights and interests under laws. There was no equal protection because political power was abused to scatter the residents so they could not fulfill their plans. They had no resources to meet after removing them from their community, and no legal defenses since no lawyer dared go after the City and developer interests.

This is all about politics.

But because of the fear and hostility associated with Black/White racism, people could not collaborate and help.