what would you do?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Againsheila, May 13, 2012.

1. Againsheila

Againsheila Gold Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +2,700
    My oldest son has high functioning autism. He completed a two year degree at DeVry University with honors. It's been months and he still can't find a job. I've stopped charging room and board so he can use that money to pay off his student loans. The problem? It's money for his disability and is not suppose to be used to pay off student loans, it's suppose to be used for his living expenses. I'm not good at lying in fact I'm lousy at it but I feel an obligation to get those loans paid off. What if he never gets a job? The truth is that they can't legally come after his disability for those loans but that doesn't negate his responsibility to pay them off. Since he's my son, I feel that responsibility as well, my parents paid for most of my college.

Anyway, what would you do? Use his disability to pay off those loans, or let them wait until or if he gets a job?

2. C_Clayton_Jones

C_Clayton_Jones Diamond Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +23,869
    Assuming the training program he completed doesn’t have a placement service, I’d recommend he go to your local Workforce Board Monday, get him work-registered and with a career manager who will provide him job referrals. He’s likely entitled to priority of service and as an SSI recipient a prospective employer might realize a tax break for hiring him. It’s just a matter of getting him in touch with hiring employers.

He also might be eligible for an on the job training placement as well as placement services through the Workforce Investment Act (WIA).

It’s the Regional Workforce Board’s responsibility to find him a job, particularly if he’s eligible for SSA disability and now ready to go to work.

3. roomy

roomy The Natural

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +950