Connecting to a Network

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Toro, May 29, 2011.

  1. Toro
    Offline

    Toro Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Messages:
    65,405
    Thanks Received:
    13,231
    Trophy Points:
    2,180
    Location:
    Surfing the Oceans of Liquidity
    Ratings:
    +45,815
    So today, I bought two new computers, a MacBook Pro and a Windows HP. I haven't purchased a PC in over five years but my son wanted one for gaming. Came home, plugged in the MacBook and voila! everything worked. Was able to connect to the local network no problem on the Mac. Plugged in the HP, I couldn't connect. It found the network but when I plugged in the 26 digit password, it wouldn't take. Troubleshooting said I had to unplug the router, so I did. Went back to try to connect, but I can't find how to input the password. All it does is say I can't connect to the network.

    So how do I find the dialogue box to input the password?
     
  2. boedicca
    Offline

    boedicca Uppity Water Nymph Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    47,131
    Thanks Received:
    14,075
    Trophy Points:
    2,250
    Location:
    The Land of Funk
    Ratings:
    +30,261
    Open the Control Panel (from the Windows Start menu) and find the Network/Internet connections area. Haven't done this for awhile myself - but if memory serves, you should be able to find what you need there.

    I use a Mac at home, but suffer through Windows at work.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  3. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    48,922
    Thanks Received:
    9,316
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    The 505
    Ratings:
    +26,358
    Left click on your internet status bar on the lower right, when it opens right click in the connection you want to use then click properties. Check you security settings and make sure they are correct (WEP, WPA, WPA2, etc.) check you password in the same box to make sure it is correct. If that isn't it then you need to check the Network and Sharing Center settings and if that's not it hard connect it with the router and search for the appropriate drivers, download and install them.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. Ravi
    Offline

    Ravi BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    88,709
    Thanks Received:
    13,518
    Trophy Points:
    2,205
    Location:
    Hating Hatters
    Ratings:
    +40,416
    You might need to turn off your windows firewall.
     
  5. Mr. H.
    Offline

    Mr. H. Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    44,172
    Thanks Received:
    9,293
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    A warm place with no memory.
    Ratings:
    +15,527
    This is odd because we've got two Dell laptops and no connection issues. Got the daughter a Macbook and there's no way in hell I can get it to connect to the netowork.
     
  6. Warrior102
    Offline

    Warrior102 Gold Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    16,554
    Thanks Received:
    4,020
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Ratings:
    +4,034
    bleepingcomputer.com is your friend.

    I kid you not.

    Post the same OP in there and you will have an answer before you turn in tonight.

    They've helped me so many times. Excellent people.
     

Share This Page