Canning & preserving

koshergrl

Diamond Member
Aug 4, 2011
Ok, I'm on a kick. I got the pressure canner last year, and did one or two batches of green beans...work intensive, had to can one batch x 2, couldn't get the heat steady and then opened it too soon and lost a lot of the liquid.

Also last year I put up my first ever jam...it was peach jam...original plan was to can peaches, but being a novice, I didn't purchase the freestone variety, so I turned my canning peaches into peach jam and IT WAS YUMMY.

I was sort of on the fence about how much I was going to use the pc, and put the canners away...but then I ate the beans through the fall (there really weren't all that many pints, like 7 or something) and that made a canning believer out of me.

This spring I have made orange marmalade, strawberry jam and applesauce using waterbath canning; I canned a large batch of chicken thighs and 1 lone quart of pork...all delish.

My kitchen is currently in preparation for POTATOES...I'm going to can them either tonight or tomorrow, and my fridge is full of carrots I have been hoarding for the same purpose.

I've turned into such an old granny. This is the stuff that gets me all happy these days. That and walking my dog. :tongue::tongue::tongue: The kids are gone for a few days, so what do I do? I get ready to can! hot dog!

057-4_zpsc6d6fc12.jpg
Strawberry jam.

056-3_zps6238ba1c.jpg
That ^^^ is applesauce and it is yummy. I made a small batch, only two three pints, and two are gone already.

053-3_zps372756e4.jpg
Chicken thighs...very, very easy.

052-3_zpsbf8e0bd6.jpg

Marmalade. Almost like free food; oranges are cheap and this stuff tastes amazing.

049-4_zpsf92a394e.jpg

I have 4 quarts of beans and a quart of barbecue pork in the canner now. If you never hear from me again, it means the beans exploded the pressure cooker, and I'm dead.

Please feed my dogs and kids.