Today is a Referendum on the Survival of Western Civilization

guno

Gold Member
Reaction score

Trump.Stamped

Gold Member
Reaction score
I don't believe that. I'm not sure there is anything that can save us. We are headed down the shitter no matter what, not because of who we are going to elect, but the apathy and stupidity of the citizens.

Old Rocks

Diamond Member
Reaction score
Now I have been hearing that for 73 years. And this is a great time to be alive in this great nation. You don't like, you are free to emigrate to any other nation that suits you better and will accept you.

Moonglow

Diamond Member
Reaction score
I don't believe that. I'm not sure there is anything that can save us. We are headed down the shitter no matter what, not because of who we are going to elect, but the apathy and stupidity of the citizens.
Excluding yourself, right?

Dekster

Gold Member
Reaction score

320 Years of History

Gold Member
Reaction score
"Today is a Referendum on the Survival of Western Civilization"

Oh, puh-lease! The creative skills of folks who conjure such notions are better applied writing novels, movies and television programs.

The thread title statement implies a level of hubris that I think even Donald Trump cannot sustain. To characterize the election's outcome as being a "referendum on the survival of Western Civilization" is to attest that Americans and Americans alone determine whether Western Civilization endures. Nothing could be more mistaken about the role of the U.S. and its citizens. The U.S. is very influential at this juncture in world history and Western Civilization, but it's hardly literally the "be all, end all" to it, which is what is implied by the thread title.