Hello from FL

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by TCleary, Dec 2, 2011.

1. TCleary

TCleary Rookie

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey all,

My name's Taylor. I've actually been lurking around for a few weeks reading threads, I just haven't posted anything yet.

I'm about to graduate (in two weeks!) from an established Florida college with a BA in English Lit/Political Science. I'm a student, and people usually assume that means I'm a liberal, but I try not to identify with any one party or ideology.

For what it's worth, I'm an atheist and a firm believer in the (complete) separation of church and state. I was raised hardcore Roman Catholic, and I feel it restricted my childhood in a number of ways. You could say I feel totally cheated by my religious upbringing.

That said, I love discussion and I'm a newbie, so I'm looking forward to learning what I can. Most of you seem like intelligent people, and I wish forums like this were way more popular.

Happy to be here,

Taylor

PS: This emoticon cracks me the fuck up:
    :banana2:

2. PredFan

PredFan Gold Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +11,619
    Welcome, I'm in Orlando myself.

English Lit/Poly Sci? What are you going to do for a living?

It would be interesting to hear why you feel cheated by a religious upbringing. I was also raised Roman Catholic and I raised my children that way as well. now that they are grown, I no longer attend church much as I'm not really that into religion.

Anyway, welcome.

3. Truthmatters

Truthmatters BANNED

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +2,233
    Welcome from the other sunny coast

4. TCleary

TCleary Rookie

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey PredFan,

Thanks for the reply.

I love writing, and my dream job would be writing political speeches for a high-ranking official. But I'll most likely end up doing articles for magazines/newspapers and teaching English. But I can't say I have any real idea where my life's going.