Harvard study: Hey, maybe we’re placing too much emphasis on a college education

Discussion in 'Education' started by chanel, Feb 3, 2011.

1. chanel

chanel Silver Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +2,749
    Harvard study: Hey, maybe we’re placing too much emphasis on a college education Hot Air

Really? No shit? :eusa_doh:

Score one for common sense.

The question is: how do we fix the ridiculous mindset? :eusa_wall:

2. Truthmatters

Truthmatters BANNED

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +2,233
    By giving schools more money to set up these programs.

You know throwing money at the problem.

The type of thing the right screams about every time someone tries to fix our schools.

3. Mini 14

Mini 14 Senior Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +570
    About 4 years after I graduated, I realized that a year of experience in the real world is far more valuable and educational than 4 years of college. I'm sure its different for Doctors, some Scientists, and other highly technical careers, but for the average 4 year graduate (ESPECIALLY business and management), you will learn more your first year in the real world than you did in the 4 years it took to get the degree.

The degree used to be the key to the door. Not so much any more. It is either expected or completely insignificant. College is to a career as basic training is to the military. It is a proving ground. Not much more.

Me.....I don't even ask about college anymore. I don't care what you studied, or even IF you studied, as long as your attitude is right, you're constantly trying to learn, and you're an honest person. I'd MUCH rather hire a person with 3 years management experience than someone who has made straight A's through 4-8 years of college and/or post grad. The fresh grad knows everything. I've had a BUNCH of employees who knew everything. They are, unequivocally, the worst employees. Very few of them are still with me (only those who embraced reality).