Wireless internet 802.1 a,b,g

Discussion in 'Computers' started by nycflasher, May 21, 2004.

  1. nycflasher
    Offline

    nycflasher Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,078
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +14
    Anyone have a Linksys Wireless Access Point router?

    I may need some help getting my laptop/wireless-NIC card to access the network. This wireless shit is driving me crazy, but it seems better than running ethernet cables all over my house as we have 4 computers in different rooms now.

    Right now I have a PC wired directly to the router and it's working great. I'd like to get this laptop online so I can use it up in my room.

    I don't have a network yet, just trying to get all the comps. online.
     
  2. freeandfun1
    Offline

    freeandfun1 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6,201
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +296
    All you have to do to get it to work is have a wireless adapter on your laptop. I use the same system. Do you have a cardbus adapter?
     
  3. nycflasher
    Offline

    nycflasher Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,078
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +14
    You going to be here in a bit? (I hope so)
    I'll cut and paste my hardware profile.
    Back in about 30 mins.
     
  4. nycflasher
    Offline

    nycflasher Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,078
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +14
    I just have the linksys wireless card, not sure what the cardbus adapter is.
     
  5. freeandfun1
    Offline

    freeandfun1 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6,201
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +296
    what windows system do you use?
     
  6. nycflasher
    Offline

    nycflasher Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,078
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +14
    XP home.
     
  7. freeandfun1
    Offline

    freeandfun1 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    6,201
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +296
    Once you plug the card into your laptop and reboot, it should automatically find the wireless network. Go to open networks, find the wireless network and connect to it. Should work like a charm unless you WEP enabled the router.....

    you might have to change your connection setting in IE or NS or whatever browser you are using.
     
  8. DKSuddeth
    Offline

    DKSuddeth Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    5,175
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    North Texas
    Ratings:
    +62
  9. nycflasher
    Offline

    nycflasher Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,078
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    CT
    Ratings:
    +14
    Cool. Thanks for the link.
    Hopefully it's just that ONE of my settings is off.
     
  10. Jackass
    Offline

    Jackass Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,969
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +14

Share This Page