The Painful and Bittersweet Sojourn into Becoming a Young Adult

Lord Long Rod

Diamond Member
Jan 17, 2023
I remember those painful days of adolescence like they were yesterday. I was like any other kid, I guess: a little shy, a little brazen at times, and desperately trying to figure out who I was. But for the most part I just wanted to be invisible. Having attention drawn to me was the worst possible thing that could happen, I thought. So I avoided it at any cost.

It did not help matters that my family was always moving from town to town for my dad’s job. We would stay in a particular city just long enough for me to start to make friends and gain some amount of comfort. Then we would move again.

When I was a freshman in high school we moved to a little town in Georgia. The culture in this particular school was rather hard on me. But I was a big kid. So rarely did anything get out of hand. If it did I usually picked out one of the kids in the cool clique and beat his ass. I did this partially to get the kids off my back; partially out of anger for being the outside kid; and, I think, to push others away so I could have my space.

I always ate lunch alone, sitting by myself at some little table far away from everybody else. I rarely said a word to anyone. Looking back I think I suffered from profound loneliness. But back then it was easy to conflate my feelings and allow them to develop into anger. I was deeply alone, and I convinced myself I liked it that way.

My dad passed away from a heart attack in the summer between my freshman and sophomore years in high school. My mother had a job and was able to support the two of us, though money was a lot tighter without two incomes. It also meant that we would not be moving anytime soon. So I returned to the same high school for my sophomore year.