In the silence he has heard
Talking bee and ladybird,
And the butterfly has flown
O'er him as he lay alone.

Not a word will he disclose,
Not a word of all he knows.
I must lay him on the shelf,
And make up the tale myself.

It is indeed 'dumb' to put on a uniform and accept becoming an automaton.

My great, great great grandfather was a Civil War veteran.

My grandfather was a WWI veteran

My father was a WWII veteran

I am a Vietnam War Veteran

My son is an Iraqi War veteran.

How many of those wars were dumb? I think the answer is all of them. However, we all did our duty to our country at the time. We all have our veteran's uniforms hanging in closets or stored away in a chest. We all have the experience of being part of something bigger than ourselves. We earned our right to be a citizens of this country rather than it just being handed to us or stealing it by being illegal.

Wars are always dumb. We humans like to fight one another. It is in our nature. This stupid hippy placard thingy about "suppose they gave a war and nobody came" sounds cute but goes against human nature.

Equally dumb is venerating and glorifying American warriors...yet this seems quite common in America today.
Yeah....thank God.
Yes...killing and destroying for the ruling class, is so God like.
So you think that the only thing soldiers do is kill?
Did you know that most of the emergency aide last year after natural disasters was provided by soldiers in our military?

The choice of reducing oneself to a pawn for others is the most serious thing one can do. "Just following orders" is an inhuman excuse for committing crimes. That humans do it does not mean it is part of our nature, only that it is a potential that can be obviated by other potentials.
Again, 'we' don't want a population that thinks; 'we' want obedience.

Equally dumb is venerating and glorifying American warriors...yet this seems quite common in America today.
Yeah....thank God.