The Average American's Financial Condition

Discussion in 'Economy' started by Toro, May 1, 2010.

1. Toro

Toro Diamond Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +25,130
  2. Skull Pilot

Skull Pilot Platinum Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +10,114
    Americans are abysmally stupid when it comes to finances.

Maybe instead of teaching high school kids how to put condoms on bananas we should be teaching them finance.

3. Toro

Toro Diamond Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +25,130
    Its not just Americans.

I was a stock broker in Canada shortly after I left university. I was shocked at how little people saved. I remember having a conversation with this couple in their mid-50s who had $9000 in the bank, and they wanted me to turn that into enough for them to retire on. Stunning.

4. Skull Pilot

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +10,114
    True.

Funny but is it only people who were in the finance business for a period in their lives that save?

My wife and i are compulsive savers and i see none of our friends saving. I hate when people ask me advice when they know I used to be a financial adviser. I no longer give any advice because it has actually created friction between some of my friends and me.

I've found that it's easier to ask a client or friend if his wife is good in bed than it is to have an honest dialogue about their finances.

5. midcan5

midcan5 liberal / progressive

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +3,310
    Is the cup half full half empty or .....

Every time I dive into history I get the sense we have no clue how well we have it, and if we could just adjust things a bit we could all see the cup as at least a bit full. There should be universal law that everyone starts poor, appreciates the simple things, and then grows gradually into adulthood cognizant of real life. ;)

Life has never been so good for our species - Los Angeles Times