Stupid XP - please help me!

Discussion in 'Computers' started by elephant, Apr 16, 2006.

  1. elephant
    Offline

    elephant Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    212
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +18
    Or maybe stupid me. I some how changed a setting on Windows XP and now all of the desktop icons have this stupid blue outline, like when you select one, but all the time. I cannot figure out how to get rid of it.

    If some can help I would be indebted because the only solution I can figure out is reinstall!

    If you need a pic I can post one.

    -elephant
     
  2. dilloduck
    Offline

    dilloduck Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    53,240
    Thanks Received:
    5,552
    Trophy Points:
    1,850
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +6,403
    I could only guess that it has something to do with diplay properties but I don't even trust myself mashing a bunch of buttons. :banana:
     
  3. The ClayTaurus
    Offline

    The ClayTaurus Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7,062
    Thanks Received:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +333
    Don't reinstall, there's a way to fix it. I just have to remember where it is. Gimme a couple
     
  4. The ClayTaurus
    Offline

    The ClayTaurus Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7,062
    Thanks Received:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +333
    http://www.annoyances.org/exec/show/article02-137
    See if that fixes is it.
     
  5. Stephanie
    Offline

    Stephanie Diamond Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    70,236
    Thanks Received:
    10,818
    Trophy Points:
    2,040
    Ratings:
    +27,360
    After you all help out elephant.
    I'm having trouble playing all my old rayman games since installing xp, I use to have ME. Anyone else have this problem? I've tried a couple of things xp suggested, still no go.
    Thanks
     
  6. The ClayTaurus
    Offline

    The ClayTaurus Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7,062
    Thanks Received:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +333
    Gonna need a little more than just a basic synopsis to help you. Like.. what's Rayman, and is it even XP compatible? What have you tried already?
     
  7. Stephanie
    Offline

    Stephanie Diamond Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    70,236
    Thanks Received:
    10,818
    Trophy Points:
    2,040
    Ratings:
    +27,360
    I dont think I could really explain it. Not real computer savey.. Rayman is a computer game, and I've had them for a long time. xp shows you a few tricks on how your suppose to be able to play an older game with it, but I've not figured it out.. Games start out ok, then freezes. I've only had xp since Christmas, so I know it's not clutter or other junk.. I probably should just ask xp about it.. Thanks anyway Clay
     
  8. elephant
    Offline

    elephant Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    212
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +18

    I am fully sorted out. Thank you so much!!!

    What do I owe you for saving me from the reinstall?
     
  9. GotZoom
    Offline

    GotZoom Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,719
    Thanks Received:
    366
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cordova, TN
    Ratings:
    +366
    Fill his gas tank for him.
     
  10. The ClayTaurus
    Offline

    The ClayTaurus Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7,062
    Thanks Received:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +333
    It could be anything. Sorry I can't help more. Lemme know if you ever figure it out.
     

Share This Page