PC gone wild, volume XVI: 14-yr-old expelled for piece of paper

Pogo

Diamond Member
Dec 7, 2012
Fennario
The PC stoopid ... it hurts...

>> Kyle Thompson, 14, was joking around with his buddies at Harrison High School in Farmington Hills, Mich., last March, when one of those friends grabbed a sheet of paper labeled “Hit List” out of Thompson’s notebook.

Okay, so as a high school teacher, I find it extremely annoying when my students are distracted by something that has nothing to do with our class and what we are learning. However, what happened next is unprecedented in my experience.

Thompson allegedly had a list of people he wanted to hit on the football field. He and his friends say the list was just a joke and, when their teacher wanted to take a look, they let her do so.

According to Thompson, he and the teacher engaged in what he thought was a friendly game of tug-of-war with the paper, before he eventually let go.

According to the teacher, Thompson assaulted her. She turned him in, and the police were called. Not only has Thompson been expelled for 180 days from all Michigan high schools, but he was also arrested, handcuffed, taken to the police station and charged with assault. He may face jail time if he’s convicted. -- story link

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?&v=gEMslXo_3Ig]Gone Too Far: Our Kids in Handcuffs - YouTube[/ame]

Last edited:
ridiculous.

'Tug of war'--unless 'attitude'/defiance/disrespect was also involved it is hard to imagine how this became assault.

In this case it seems appropriate that the ACLU is involved.

He now needs to track down the teacher and beat her to a pulp. His life is over...might as well make it worthwhile!

I taught some rough kids and if I had chosen to report one of them for disciplinary action for a similar incident, I would have received disciplinary action. Somewhere there is middle ground--common sense.