Is it possible to protect software from piracy?

ModernLogic

Rookie
Dec 21, 2008
with the advent of higher internet speeds and more efficient data transfer formats like bit torrents, piracy is very much rampant. i have to admit, even my copy of matlab is pirated... but i am a poor student who cannot afford $200 for software. :eusa_whistle:

anyway, do any computer wizards know if it is possible to protect software from piracy?

can data encryption used by internet protocols also be used by software to protect itself from piracy?

In reality ... no. It's not possible. When you decompile code the security that checks if it's a pirated copy is easy to bypass if it's one where you enter a serial number. Also, almost all serial numbers get published somewhere for free. Though it's illegal, nothing will ever stop it, and yes, I am all for giving in and publishing programs as open source or freeware, just charge for the media copies (the hard copies). A good programmer will still make money setting up networks and designing specific apps for companies, all the rest are not really good programmers anyway since they rely too heavily on using other code anyway. Adobe is one of the biggest that really should be all open source, every library they use for graphics and audio are all open source, even GIF now since Compuserver got that smack on the wrist. However, MS has found a way to prevent piracy of their Windoze, though this also restricts a lot of users so they dropped it. They used the IP's of the users and registered them with the Windoze, but after too many complaints they had to stop that practice and instead do a lock out after three (I think) installs for XP or Vista with the same number on the same machine (though there are even more ways around this). So again, it's impossible to prevent pirating, even multimedia gets pirated and with the gray areas in using it in your own creations many have given up finally (evidence on Youtube).