I'm going to KILL my computer...

Discussion in 'Computers' started by 007, Sep 20, 2009.

  1. 007
    Offline

    007 Charter Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    38,545
    Thanks Received:
    7,908
    Trophy Points:
    1,130
    Ratings:
    +12,131
    This fucking computer... I'm about ready to take it outside and beat it with a sledge hammer and pic like I did it's predecessor. First the Lite-on DVD started screwing up and wouldn't play DVD's, then the sound card lost it's driver somehow, so I decided to just throw in the System Recovery disc and restore it, so then the fucker tells me I can only use my recovery disc on an HP computer, which it is, a HP Pavilion. So this thing is screwed and I have no way to fix it.

    Are there any computer guru's here that may have heard of this before and have some idea how to get past this problem?
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2009
  2. DiveCon
    Offline

    DiveCon gone

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    48,025
    Thanks Received:
    3,387
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +3,387
    well, dont call HP support
    they will tell you you need a new mouse, and say they will send you one only to send you a new VGA cable
    you call them back and tell them you got the wrong part, they'll tell you they are sorry and will send the correct part, but never send it
     
  3. BasicGreatGuy
    Offline

    BasicGreatGuy Aut libertas aut mors

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,284
    Thanks Received:
    427
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +427
    Was the recovery disk the one that came with the computer?
     
  4. DiveCon
    Offline

    DiveCon gone

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    48,025
    Thanks Received:
    3,387
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +3,387
    sometimes it doesnt matter
    the file that controls that could be one of the ones messed up
     
  5. 007
    Offline

    007 Charter Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    38,545
    Thanks Received:
    7,908
    Trophy Points:
    1,130
    Ratings:
    +12,131
    HP support has to be some of the worst in the industry. You'll get some woman in india that you can't even understand.
     
  6. 007
    Offline

    007 Charter Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    38,545
    Thanks Received:
    7,908
    Trophy Points:
    1,130
    Ratings:
    +12,131
    Yeah, but I should be able to use these with quite a few different models so long as they're HP's.

    You put the disc in, shut off the computer, wait thirty seconds, turn computer on, it initializes and then says "ERROR, this disc will only work in HP computers, please call your HP support center." Bull shit... :hmpf:
     
  7. BasicGreatGuy
    Offline

    BasicGreatGuy Aut libertas aut mors

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,284
    Thanks Received:
    427
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +427
    if the recovery disk wasn't the one that came with the computer, you won't be able to do the auto install. It will give you the message he mentioned. That is why I asked. Sometimes there is a workaround that kind of problem.
     
  8. BasicGreatGuy
    Offline

    BasicGreatGuy Aut libertas aut mors

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,284
    Thanks Received:
    427
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +427
    If that is the original disk, it could be that your drive is going bad and not properly reading the sectors on the disc.
     
  9. DiveCon
    Offline

    DiveCon gone

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    48,025
    Thanks Received:
    3,387
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +3,387
    i have an HP laptop
    nice equipment
    but there was a problem with the little IR remote that came with it
    and the IR receiver didn't show up in device manager
    i called support and they told me the remote was bad and it needed to be replaced
    they sent me a package that had a replacement express slot (where the remote is stored and charged) and not the remote
    i called back, they said they would send the right part but never did
    but they never understand that the remote wasn't the problem, but they scripts said that any problem with remotes had to have the remote replaced first

    in spite of the fact i KNEW what the problem was, the IR receiver wasn't working
    and since it didn't show up in device manager even as an unknown device, that told me the receiver was the faulty point
    but i could never get that through to the support people
    your best bet, buy a RETAIL version of windows and use that
     
  10. DiveCon
    Offline

    DiveCon gone

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    48,025
    Thanks Received:
    3,387
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +3,387
    there are a lot of possibilities that would cause that
     

Share This Page