Halp! Laptop and Desktop not Loading Pages

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Zoom-boing, Dec 6, 2011.

  1. Zoom-boing
    Offline

    Zoom-boing Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    25,071
    Thanks Received:
    7,261
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Location:
    East Japip
    Ratings:
    +10,130
    So yesterday a.m. all was fine. Yesterday afternoon the laptop and desktop stopped loading certain pages. This site/pages is/are fine but when we try to log on to other sites (news sites, youtube -- it seems random) it just spins and spins. The status bar progresses very slowly if at all. Even sites that it is bringing up it will often load the page and we can navigate it but the status bar won't quite complete and the spinny thing on the tab doesn't stop spinning.

    We're running FF 8.0.1 on the laptop; FF 4. something on the desktop, Kaspersky anti-virus. Any ideas where/what we should be looking at to resolve this? I've cleared the cache, rebooted, disconnected/reconnected to the internet (though have not rebooted the modem/router yet).

    Since it's on both computers (don't know about oldest's laptop, will check when she rouses) it's making me think an update - Kaspersky perhaps? - is the problem. Did a Windows update last night (it doesn't automatically do updates so it wasn't a Windows update because the problem started before I did the update) but the problem persists.

    Any suggestions? Keep in mind I'm not a computer geek. :)

    Oh, I also tried loading stuff in IE but the same problem occurred.
     
  2. Warrior102
    Offline

    Warrior102 Gold Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    16,554
    Thanks Received:
    4,019
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Ratings:
    +4,029
    Visit Bleepingcomputer.com and do a search with keywords. Guarantee it's happened to someone over there. I have brought many issues to those folks and they have fixed the problem. Great forum.

    Or, if you have $30 to spend - download and run Spyware Doctor.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  3. Sallow
    Offline

    Sallow The Big Bad Wolf. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    56,535
    Thanks Received:
    6,132
    Trophy Points:
    1,840
    Location:
    New York City
    Ratings:
    +7,394
    Spot on.

    Or..if you want to play around yourself..start up the Windows task manager. Generally you can do that with ctrl-alt-delete.

    Check it to see what you have running.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  4. Zoom-boing
    Offline

    Zoom-boing Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    25,071
    Thanks Received:
    7,261
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Location:
    East Japip
    Ratings:
    +10,130
    Right now I've logged on to Facebook. Approx. 3/4 of the status bar is green but the page won't finished loading. Most pictures aren't there. I hit the stop button, clicked on a notification but it's just spinning. It's 'waiting' for stuff in the status bar.

    Grrrr . . .


    This site is working as it should, no problems.
     
  5. PixieStix
    Offline

    PixieStix Coal Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    14,511
    Thanks Received:
    4,972
    Trophy Points:
    370
    Ratings:
    +5,261
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  6. PixieStix
    Offline

    PixieStix Coal Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    14,511
    Thanks Received:
    4,972
    Trophy Points:
    370
    Ratings:
    +5,261
    Spambot is good too, I usually go visit major geeks.com
     
  7. Sallow
    Offline

    Sallow The Big Bad Wolf. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    56,535
    Thanks Received:
    6,132
    Trophy Points:
    1,840
    Location:
    New York City
    Ratings:
    +7,394
    Sounds like you have some spyware on board. Get a removal program. Those things are nasty..especially if they have a keylogger. They log everything you type..usernames..passwords.
     
  8. Warrior102
    Offline

    Warrior102 Gold Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    16,554
    Thanks Received:
    4,019
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Ratings:
    +4,029
  9. iamwhatiseem
    Offline

    iamwhatiseem Gold Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14,833
    Thanks Received:
    3,114
    Trophy Points:
    280
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +6,128
    I guarantee you have spyware/malware that is attempting to redirect pages.
    Install Firefox or Chrome web browser and see if the problem disappears - if it does - then the virus/malware is specifically targeting IE.

    You need to install and run one or both of these: USE THESE LINKS ONLY...

    Ad-Aware Free - Download Internet Security Software with Antivirus & Spyware Removal - Lavasoft
    or
    Spybot - Search & Destroy - Free software downloads and software reviews - CNET Download.com

    You may have to use Firefox or Chrome to download these - as it is highly likely the virus/malware is blocking these sites - don't try to download from a different site...there are fake ones with similar names that will give you false results and try and get you to install a program that is just another malware.

    If doing all this doesn't work...take it to Geek squad etc....getting rid of persistent malware is not always possible by average users.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  10. Zoom-boing
    Offline

    Zoom-boing Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    25,071
    Thanks Received:
    7,261
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Location:
    East Japip
    Ratings:
    +10,130
    I just went in and rebooted the modem and router and on here some things seem to be working better but not all. Facebook still won't quite load . . but that could be FB because that's what FB does on occasion. 'Get add-ons' in FF add-ons manager is now working.

    The desktop still isn't working right. Got youtube to load but can not get a vid to come up. Am rebooting it right now . . . ..
     

Share This Page