COMP question. can i back up my comp?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by sarahgop, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,088
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    130
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    i have cox cable high speed. i want to know if there is a way i can back up my comp and save all my favorites on a disc as well as backing up the comp and internet explorer in case it crashes.
     
  2. Oddball
    Offline

    Oddball BANNED Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    41,428
    Thanks Received:
    8,397
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Drinking wine, eating cheese, catching rays
    Ratings:
    +8,409
    I use a high capacity flash drive.
     
  3. Big Black Dog
    Offline

    Big Black Dog Gold Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22,912
    Thanks Received:
    5,108
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Ratings:
    +5,714
    I use an external hard drive for back-ups. When not in actual use, I detach it from the computer.
     
  4. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,088
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    130
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    what do you mean by that?
     
  5. Midnight Marauder
    Offline

    Midnight Marauder BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12,404
    Thanks Received:
    1,876
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1,876
    I have a 1 terabyte internal hard drive that I added to my computer a couple of months ago, to back up my 300GB one I originally built this computer with. It has everything backed up on it, all files and entire operating system. It comes with great software that makes it magically easy to do. And it was cheap too, about 80 bucks.

    I have it set to get an update from the 300gig every night, so it keeps current and up to date.

    When I bought it, it was on sale at 80 bucks, it's 108 now at the link below.

    [ame=http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digital-Caviar-Green-WD10EACS/dp/B000X4PJG8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1248133016&sr=1-1]Amazon.com: Western Digital Caviar Green 1 TB Bulk/OEM Hard Drive 3.5 Inch, 16 MB Cache, 5400 RPM SATA II WD10EACS: Electronics[/ame]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2009
  6. xsited1
    Offline

    xsited1 Agent P

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,750
    Thanks Received:
    5,299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Ratings:
    +5,306
  7. Midnight Marauder
    Offline

    Midnight Marauder BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12,404
    Thanks Received:
    1,876
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1,876
  8. Terry
    Offline

    Terry Shut the $%$ Up!

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,222
    Thanks Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +1,091
    Do you use Outlook as your email program? I usually only export my address book , any saved mail, then I save my favorites and last but not least I print out a report on all my serial numbers for my programs just incase i've misplaced them. Everything else I really don't need because if it's important, that information is already saved on a disc.

    Belarc Advisor - Free Personal PC Audit Is great to identify what you have on your PC.

    MM, omg I hate to see how long it takes for that drive to defrag!
     
  9. Midnight Marauder
    Offline

    Midnight Marauder BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12,404
    Thanks Received:
    1,876
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1,876
    It never needs it hunnie! But hell, it doesn't have any more files in it than my main HD does, so wouldn't take any longer!

    300GB isn't a big drive at all, by today's standards. 1 terabyte is 3.33 times bigger, 1000 GB. There's 1.5TB drives out there now, and I wouldn't be too surprised to see it go to 2 pretty soon.

    But the defrag utility doesn't care the size of the drive, it's only concerned with the files. Just like if you were a librarian, sorting books.... The size of the building doesn't matter. Hell, it could be in a football stadium but if it only had 10 shelves of books, would take you no longer to sort.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2009
  10. xsited1
    Offline

    xsited1 Agent P

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,750
    Thanks Received:
    5,299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Ratings:
    +5,306

Share This Page