College: Cost too much?

Discussion in 'Education' started by zzzz, Aug 21, 2011.

1. zzzz

zzzz Just a regular American

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +429
    Good article on the rising costs of going to college. Am I glad I have my degree!

Colleges charge big tuition because they can | Journal and Courier | jconline.com

2. Toro

Toro Diamond Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +25,094
    This is an interesting topic.

I think the gap between what is needed to pay for a top private college and an in-state college is becoming too wide. The cost of one top-tier private college I know of and a good in-state college is $200,000 over four years. I am extremely skeptical that the extra $200k is worth it over the long-run.

• Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  3. Oddball

Oddball BANNED Supporting Member

Thanks Received:
    Drinking wine, eating cheese, catching rays
    Ratings:
    +8,409
    I wonder where all the hand-wringers from the left are on this "price gouging" by Big Edumacation?

[​IMG]

4. chanel

chanel Silver Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +2,749
    We will be paying for two next year. They have been offered no assistance because of our income. That's ok. We've saved since they were born.

What's not ok is the waste and corruption that goes on at these schools and the GD nickle and diming for extra fees, textbooks, health insurance, etc. What's not ok is using tuition and taxpayer money to pay for foreign students to attend for free. What's not ok is paying football coaches $2M a year.

And what really gets my goat is FERPA. If I am putting out $40K a year, I should have the right to monitor my investment. If they want to treat students as independent adults, then use THEIR friggin income to calculate the bill.

• Thank You! Thank You! x 3
  5. editec

editec Mr. Forgot-it-All

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +5,617
    In part the cost of education rising has to do with the availability of loans to pay for college.