Bread Baking

Coloradomtnman

Rational and proud of it.
Oct 1, 2008
Denver
I've been baking my own bread for about 4 years. Those first batches of blunt weapons were discouraging, but nowadays I use my Kitchenaid mixer and have learned a few techniques.

However, its still difficult and I don't seem to be very talented at it. I can do a basic artisan bread well, crusty but dense, but I want to bake some fluffier, lighter stuff that isn't as crusty because my girlfriend of nearly three years suffered a broken jaw that didn't heal well and causes her pain when she chews harder foods. She LOVES sour doughs and I don't have a starter and don't know how to make one - if that is an option.

Can anyone give me a recipe or tips on how to do this and/or any other kinds of breads one would recommend (I love bread A LOT).

Ps. I live at 5,000 feet in Denver.

Oooh...the elevation may be an issue.

I'm good at bread, and make it without a recipe, just whenever.

Couple of things about bread..the more you work yeast dough, and the more times it rises, the finer it gets. Sometimes it will get tougher, too, so you have to hit a balance.

When I first started out, my mom told me to always let it rise 2x....so you let it rise 1x in the bowl, punch it down, knead it a little, and then prepare it for the oven...loaves in oiled loaf pans, buns in their pans...and let it raise again.

Butter or margarine across the tops (olive oil is probably just as well) as SOON as it comes out of the oven, and it will make the crust softer.

Seriously, bread is made or broken in the kneading. You need to do it enough that you learn what a good dough feels like..and you aren't going to get that with a kitchenaid. You have to work it yourself.

My bread:

About 2 cups hot water, with a couple of tbsp oil/butter/lard (melted), a tbsp. of sugar, 2 tbsp of salt, and 1 tsp. - 1 tbsp (depending on how much I trust it) yeast.

Stir it up, let it sit a few minutes.