Anyone good with graphics?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by jimnyc, Jan 12, 2004.

  1. jimnyc
    Offline

    jimnyc ...

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,113
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +246
    I have Adobe Photoshop and Paintshop Pro, but I'm too stupid to learn how to make a 'good' website logo.

    I'd like to change the logo that is at the top of this board but I'm having trouble using these programs. To be honest, I haven't tried too hard, but it looks like you need to be a scientist to do any good with those programs!

    Anyone know of any software that is specifically designed for images/logos? (for dummies)
     
  2. DKSuddeth
    Offline

    DKSuddeth Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    5,175
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    North Texas
    Ratings:
    +62
    It all depends on what you really want to do Jim. MicroGrafx is also a good graphics suite but any of those three are more than adequate. PM me with some ideas and maybe I can send you some short examples.
     
  3. jimnyc
    Offline

    jimnyc ...

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,113
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +246
    I'm not really sure what I want.

    I like what is there now, but I'd like to make it better. I tried opening the image in Paintshop Pro and editing it but I was having trouble NOT making it look like a 5th grader did it!

    I guess I'll just have to learn the program.
     
  4. SinisterMotives
    Online

    SinisterMotives Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you describe what you want to do or maybe scan some sketches and post them, Jim? I have this weird knack for logos. I made my new logo by accident while playing with my previous ho-hum logo in Paint Shop Pro, and I think it's pretty cool (see below).

    [​IMG]

    EDIT: Oops! I just saw your previous post where you said you weren't sure what you wanted.
     
  5. jimnyc
    Offline

    jimnyc ...

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,113
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +246
    I want similar to what is being used already. The size of the current graphic is 364x65, I'd like for the new one to be just a tad bigger - not by much at all though otherwise it will distort the screen (look at the top of the screen, higher the height, the lower the buttons on the right will go)

    Maybe a similar 'patriotic' picture on the left (perhaps some sort of World Trade Center pic?), but of better clarity. And the words on the right are ok I guess, maybe just a more suitable font?

    Neater, tighter and maybe a bit more professional looking.

    Make sense?
     
  6. SinisterMotives
    Online

    SinisterMotives Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes it does. The picture in your avatar would work well there, and it's about the right size if you want to use it. I'm not thrilled with the stock Photoshop bevel effect on the current logo personally. Perhaps a gradient background that fades into the page background would work well.
     
  7. jimnyc
    Offline

    jimnyc ...

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,113
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +246
    Damn, never even thought of my own avatar!

    Yes, that would look good. Do you think the height is too high? And I agree about the stock effects, but that's all I could figure out how to do! LOL

    The fade sounds great. I tried something similar but couldn't get the colors to come even remotely close!

    Hell, look what I put up there, I couldn't even get the text aligned properly. I suck.
     
  8. SinisterMotives
    Online

    SinisterMotives Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't be so hard on yourself. The new paint programs are obscenely complicated, which is why I use Paint Shop Pro 3.11 (yes, the 16-bit Windows 3.11 version!) whenever possible.

    I think the avatar image is about the right height. If you find that you want the buttons on the right to be higher, you can change this line in your vBulletin header template:

    Code:
    <td valign="bottom" align="right" nowrap background="images/menu_background.gif">
    to read:

    Code:
    <td valign="middle" align="right" nowrap background="images/menu_background.gif">
    That will align them with the middle of the logo image.
     
  9. jimnyc
    Offline

    jimnyc ...

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,113
    Thanks Received:
    244
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +246
    Outstanding! How did you know exactly what template it was? Do you use vBulletin?

    I tried so many ways when I first opened this board to adjust things in the header and forumhome, and every time the buttons, time or member information got all screwed up.

    I just printed out your code, thanks!
     
  10. SinisterMotives
    Online

    SinisterMotives Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    No, I usually write my own message boards and stuff. It was just an educated guess. Most Web applications of this type have a header + generated page + footer structure. :)
     

Share This Page