US military needs to be completely revamped

Or attend college.

I thought it was funny when I enrolled in a local community college in 1993 after I was medically discharged from the Marines. And when I was registering they told me I had to show proof that I was enrolled in the Selective Service system.

I simply returned the next day with my DD-214, and showed that not only had I already served 10 years so was no longer eligible to be drafted, I was medically exempt from service. They called out one of the assistant deans who signed off on the form saying I was exempt from that requirement.
You somehow joined the Marine Corps without registering for selective service? Did you join before you turned 18?

I joined when there was no registration. When the registration started, I registered anyway even though I was a veteran and not eligible to be drafted.
Yeah but if he was medically discharged after 10 years of service he must have joined in 83. Im not a selective service historian but I’m relatively comfortable that it started prior to that

I joined in 1978.
I wasn’t talking about you.

On 2 July 1980, President Jimmy Carter, signed Proclamation 4771 (Registration Under the Military Selective Service Act) in response to the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan in the previous year of 1979,[26] retroactively re-establishing the Selective Service registration requirement for all 18- to 26-year-old male citizens born on or after 1 January 1960.[27] As a result, only men born between 29 March 1957, and 31 December 1959, were completely exempt from Selective Service registration.[28]

I wasn’t talking about you.