TV. no sound

Discussion in 'Computers' started by sarahgop, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,088
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    130
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    my tv has no sound. at first i thought it might be the vcr or cable so i unplugged the cable and vcr from the tv. when i did that i cant get a picture but the static on the screen was also silent. is the tv broke and can it be easily fixed?
     
  2. xotoxi
    Offline

    xotoxi Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    30,322
    Thanks Received:
    5,203
    Trophy Points:
    1,110
    Location:
    your mother
    Ratings:
    +5,492
    Is the TV broken?
     
  3. Douger
    Offline

    Douger BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    12,323
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Not fucking there !
    Ratings:
    +915
    If it is, do yourself a big favor and never buy another one.
     
  4. Big Black Dog
    Offline

    Big Black Dog Gold Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22,912
    Thanks Received:
    5,108
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Ratings:
    +5,715
    Either run out and get a new tv or learn how to read lips.
     
  5. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,088
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    130
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    does it sound as if its the tv?
    would it cost too much to fix?
     
  6. peach174
    Offline

    peach174 Gold Member Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    20,515
    Thanks Received:
    4,041
    Trophy Points:
    290
    Location:
    S.E. AZ
    Ratings:
    +7,356
    Our TV speakers went out and the cost to fix it was too much. We went and got new external speakers for it at WalMart. Much cheaper and does the job just as well.
     
  7. Zoom-boing
    Offline

    Zoom-boing Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    25,063
    Thanks Received:
    7,260
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Location:
    East Japip
    Ratings:
    +10,122
    Could be. How old is the tv? Do some research online to see if it's a common problem with your brand. We had something go wrong with one of our tvs (quite a few years ago) and whatever it was cost about $65 to fix so we fixed it. If you need to replace it but don't want to buy brand new, check out e-bay or better yet, craigslist. People sell all kinds of good stuff for cheap on craigslist. Might take some time finding what you want but the payoff is that it saves some mighty bucks.
     
  8. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,088
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    130
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    i fixed it. its the vcr. when i plug the cable directly into the tv it works fine. however, some channels have a full screen and others have a black bar on the top and bottom. im sure its not the tv or all the channels would be like that.
     
  9. Quantum Windbag
    Offline

    Quantum Windbag Gold Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    58,308
    Thanks Received:
    5,014
    Trophy Points:
    245
    Ratings:
    +5,221
    Your VCR is adding the letterbox on the channels that have a wide screen format.
     
  10. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,088
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    130
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    but the vcr is turned off now.
     

Share This Page