The Curse of a Middle Class Kid: No Financial Aid

Izz13

Rookie
Mar 18, 2014
College is expensive and that is the truth, but there are ways to help with the expenses, unless your parents worked hard and made money, then scholarships are hard to come by for their kids. I am a middle class student in college with good grades and plenty of activities and what would seem a good candidate for scholarships. I am, however, constantly passed over for scholarships because my parents make money, yet I am the one paying for my college degree not my parents, but my financial aid is no where to be seen. I am a broke college kid that has worked for my entire life to be here and I am getting no assistance for all of my hard work just because my parents worked hard to bring my family up to middle class status. And I am not saying that all scholarships should be focused on middle class kids, but they should hold more weight in merit based ideals than in purely financial aid based details. If any kid (independent of their class) works hard, then they should be rewarded for that with aid.

Yes, but a majority of all scholarships are still need-base aid which is based off of a parents income level.

And my college GPA is a 3.95 in engineering.

Last edited:
Anyone stopping you from taking out student loans?

Scholarships are nice and you don't have to pay them back.

I'm sure Obama could find you a waver or an extension. He's handing out a lot of those these days.

But I do understand your plight. My AGI is such that need-based moneys are out of the question. However, after paying the mortgage and tuition and health insurance and taxes and other living expenses... I'm just treading water here.

Anyone stopping you from taking out student loans?

Scholarships are nice and you don't have to pay them back.

I'm sure Obama could find you a waver or an extension. He's handing out a lot of those these days.