microsoft update: now explorer refuses to open

Discussion in 'Computers' started by strollingbones, Dec 17, 2010.

  1. strollingbones
    Offline

    strollingbones Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    65,547
    Thanks Received:
    15,605
    Trophy Points:
    2,190
    Location:
    chicken farm
    Ratings:
    +31,868
    okay......its updating at night...critical update...then when i try to open browser....it wont open...wants to delete the program....i do a restore.....it works....but it will update tonight and stop again...wth is microsoft doing to its own browser...

    i am running ....o hell i dont know....its a recent windows ....but i really dont know....why is this happening...and what do i do...

    who knew you little geeks with slider rulers would one day rule the world?
     
  2. u2scram
    Offline

    u2scram Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +25
    your still using microsoft? try google chrome or firefox.

    theyre both better than m/s.
     
  3. Mr. H.
    Offline

    Mr. H. Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    44,104
    Thanks Received:
    9,264
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    A warm place with no memory.
    Ratings:
    +15,387
    You can disable automatic updates.
     
  4. Mad Scientist
    Offline

    Mad Scientist Deplorable Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    23,936
    Thanks Received:
    5,211
    Trophy Points:
    270
    Ratings:
    +7,676
    Try this:
    If that doesn't work:
    Then download and install FireFox and stay away from IE.
     
  5. strollingbones
    Offline

    strollingbones Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    65,547
    Thanks Received:
    15,605
    Trophy Points:
    2,190
    Location:
    chicken farm
    Ratings:
    +31,868
    i have foxfire...but its da mans browser.....

    i need to do something......this is crazy....they do an update and stop your explorer?????
     
  6. iamwhatiseem
    Offline

    iamwhatiseem Gold Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14,817
    Thanks Received:
    3,114
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +6,097
    If da man insist on using explorer...then da man will have to put up with all the problems that go with it.
     
  7. Steerpike
    Offline

    Steerpike VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,847
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +182
    Personally, I like Opera and Chrome better than Firefox, although Firefox 4 looks pretty good (from the beta version). Except that the linux version of Firefox 4 doesn't impress me so I'll stick to Chromium and Opera 11 there.
     
  8. Liability
    Offline

    Liability Locked Account. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    35,447
    Thanks Received:
    5,049
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Mansion in Ravi's Head
    Ratings:
    +5,063
    Sometimes when you download a program for something or other on your computer, you get an "option" to also install "other" stuff, like the Yahoo Toolbar/ In an underhanded manner, they pre-echeck that option so you must always be careful not to move too fast. Uncheck it first.

    The other day my Internet Explorer stopped opening (I usually use Firefox, but some applications open with IE by default when they need to go to the net). Anyway, I realized quickly that it was the new Yahoo crap that was gumming up the works. I had screwed up. I forgot to uncheck the box.... My bad. Yahoo blows. So I went to Control Panel and removed the new Yahoo Toolbar application. Suddenly, IE works again.

    I still prefer Firefox. But you might want to make sure you haven't accidentally installed some Yahoo (or related) crap toolbar recently.
     
  9. Quantum Windbag
    Offline

    Quantum Windbag Gold Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    58,308
    Thanks Received:
    5,014
    Trophy Points:
    245
    Ratings:
    +5,221
    You can set up separate profiles in Firefox for yourself and your husband.
     
  10. Baruch Menachem
    Offline

    Baruch Menachem '

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    14,204
    Thanks Received:
    3,235
    Trophy Points:
    185
    Ratings:
    +3,305
    Convince him to go to Chrome. If it works on the chevy, it works better on the computer.
     

Share This Page