Laws and tyranny

Si modo

Diamond Member
Sep 9, 2009
Fairfax, Virginia
Disclaimer: I am no political scientist, far from any expert in history, certainly not a sociologist, etc.

My hypothesis (and likely some scholar of those subjects has said the same thing): When laws are more subjective than objective; there is no longer a system of law, rather there is tyranny.

Simple definitions:

Subjective: existing in the mind; belonging to the thinking subject rather than to the object of thought (opposed to objective)

Objective: not influenced by personal feelings, interpretations, or prejudice; based on facts; unbiased: an objective opinion; of or pertaining to something that can be known, or to something that is an object or a part of an object; existing independent of thought or an observer as part of reality.

When we have what I call the "feel good" legislation (for example, this recent legislation about WBC and funerals), I think of how this sort of thing breeds tyranny.

That legislation, and other laws/rules, depend on such a subjective determination of what is offensive, insulting, attacking, etc.. Maybe WBC is not a great example, as I know of no one who doesn't think they are a bunch of horrible lunatics.

But, maybe examine your country club or some other social group's rules. For example, your neighborhood association's bylaws on use of the club house. Perhaps the bylaws state that you cannot insult and/or personally attack (verbally) another member in the dining room.