Justify the Pledge...

Discussion in 'Religion and Ethics' started by vyse5090, Nov 8, 2008.

1. vyse5090

vyse5090 Rookie

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dear Sirs,
    I am a college student in Seattle and I am running into a dilemma. I am a part of an American Government class at my school and we have been divided into groups to argue different sides of mock Supreme Court Cases. The case I have been assigned to is worded as follows: " Is it a violation of the Establishment clause to require elementary school teachers as a matter of policy, to lead their classes in a daily recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance, including the phrase, "Under God.""
    My group is arguing that it is not a violation, but we are not having much luck finding any support for our side of the argument. If you have any suggestions as to angles that we could take or resources we can utilize it would be greatly appreciated.

Robert

2. random3434

random3434 Senior Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +7,194
    Hello Robert!

I am an elementary public school teacher.

Our school (over 700 students) has some students say the pledge every day over our loud speakers. The students then stand up, and say the pledge, or don't. We don't make them say it, and there is nothing said to them if they don't, it's their choice.

So we in fact aren't MAKING them say the pledge, it's an option for them.

(by the way, I do stand with my hand over my heart and say the pledge, but I know there are other teachers that don't. Again, it's their CHOICE! )

Hope this helps! Feel free to ask more questions. I think there is a thread on here somewhere about this.

3. frazzledgear

frazzledgear Senior Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +541
    I would argue it is in no way a violation of the Establishment clause on several grounds.