Holland - An Alternative Health Care System

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by Toro, Sep 6, 2007.

1. Toro

Toro Diamond Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +25,106
    I find this debate on whether or not health care is better in Canada or the US to be stale - as if there are no other alternatives.

Well, here is one country that is a mixture of both. I am no expert on healthcare financing, but I feel the solution, or quasi-solution, between the problems in health care for Canada and America lies somewhere in between the two systems.

The Netherlands.

WSJ

2. Angel Heart

Angel Heart Conservative Hippie

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +341
    Most of America does have both. In Oregon there's the Oregon Health Plan. It covers all children and adults that are low income and don't have it available through work. They even have a program for those that can't afford the out of pay cost of employee covered ins. The thing too many forget is that the US isn't one large blob. We have states. Each state runs as if the state is it's own country. The Federal government is there for interstate commerce and to defend the whole. The health care issue needs to be addressed at the state level not the federal.

3. ScreamingEagle

ScreamingEagle Gold Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +2,159
    What's so great about this system? You still have the insurance companies controlling your heath services. You, the individual, are still just left as a pawn in the insurance game. Your doctor also gets to have his hands tied too.

I'd like a system where the individual is the one who is in power and control of his own health services---
    not the insurance company,
    not an employer,
    not the government.

4. mattskramer

mattskramer Senior Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +359