Fmr. Clinton Aide Harold Ickes Goes Where Even Michael Moore Didn't Dare

Discussion in 'Politics' started by NATO AIR, Oct 28, 2004.

1. NATO AIR

NATO AIR Senior Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +282
    he states as fact that the saudi bin laden family was allowed to leave the US without being questioned.

heinious new ad has factcheck.org up in arms

2. no1tovote4

no1tovote4 VIP Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +616
    There's an ad here in Colorado on the radio that says Bush is closing Fire Stations across the nation, it simply isn't true. I am a volunteer firefighter in my county and we are awash with more Federal Money than ever before. There are no Fire Stations closing because of Bush. The DNC is running an ad that is an outright lie, but nobody even seems aware of it.

3. NATO AIR

NATO AIR Senior Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +282
    i have heard of fire stations closing in places like NYC, Detroit, Atlanta.... big cities mostly. Homeland security funding is not properly being planned or doled out. That's more the federal government celebrating a new huge bureaucracy than George Bush though.

4. Flying Duck

Flying Duck Active Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +50
    Shouldn't fire stations be a municipality/county responsiblity? (That's my opinion anyhow.)

The more we rely upon the federal government to pay for everything, the more we move away from the basis upoon this coutnry was founded - a federation of states.

Instead of giving money to the federal government and having it doled at the discretion of Congress, I'd much rather pay my taxes locally and fund things in my city/county. Why should I, in Seattle, be funding fire stations in NY or Detroit?

There are obvious economies of scale in developing response programs and technologies for first responders at a federal level, but I think it is much fairer to address funding of operations at the local level.

• Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. nakedemperor