DVD Recorders - Need Tech Help

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Zoom-boing, Sep 17, 2010.

  1. Zoom-boing
    Offline

    Zoom-boing Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    25,061
    Thanks Received:
    7,260
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Location:
    East Japip
    Ratings:
    +10,120
    Our dvd player/vcr recorder that the kids use is on the fritz. It's not loading many dvds (both purchased and ones we record on a different machine) and it skips on many that it does load. So, I'm looking to replace it. I'm looking for a dvd recorder but need it to have rf coaxial in and out.

    My questions:

    1. If the dvd recorder has an astc tuner, does that automatically mean it has the rf coaxial in and out connections?

    2. Is a digital tuner the same thing as an astc tuner?

    3. I'm having trouble determining if the dvd recorders I'm looking at on-line have the rf coaxial in and out connections. One recorder I found gives this in the description:

    Jackpacks:

    Component Outputs (1)
    HDMI® Out
    Front S-Video Input (1)
    Rear S-Video Input/Output 1 /1
    Rear RCA-Video Input/Output 1 /1
    Front Audio Input (1)
    Rear Analog Audio Input / Output 1/1
    Coaxial Outputs (1)
    Front DV Input (1)


    In a review of this same machine on Amazon, one reviewer said:

    It has coaxial in and out jacks.

    My question is, how do I tell from the product description that it has coaxial in and out? If I hadn't seen the Amazon review I would not have known.

    4. Last question . . . is it worth buying a 'factory refurbished' product that is less expensive than a 'new' one? I bought refurbished ipods from Apple and have never had a problem . . . was just wondering if anyone has had any experience with refurbished dvd recorders.

    Thanks for any input anyone can give.
     
  2. José
    Offline

    José Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,243
    Thanks Received:
    314
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +360
    DVD players are almost a thing of the past, Zoom.

    I I were you I'd buy a media player if you don't have one already (I have a Western Digital Live). You'll have almost no compatibility problems with the files you download.

    But I gather you have a good DVD collection and don't want to keep it merely as backup...

    Sorry... not an answer to your technical questions but my two cents anyway : )
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  3. ConHog
    Offline

    ConHog BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14,538
    Thanks Received:
    897
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +897
    To answer your questions.

    What do you need a tuner for? If you have either cable or satelite you will have that tuner to use, so the tuner that your dvd burner has would be irrelevant. Of course that is another story if you are watching over the air tv. But of course analog tuners are a thing of the past since all tv is now digital.

    Coaxial in and out? Why do you need that? Every TV built within the last 20 years has the little white yellow and red inputs at minimum, as does any dvd players etc etc.

    WHy the HDMI output UNLESS you are looking for a blue ray player?

    What do you intend to do with this hardware? Just watch movies?
     
  4. Ringel05
    Online

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40,146
    Thanks Received:
    7,994
    Trophy Points:
    1,830
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +17,245
    Do you have an language translator program for that?
     
  5. Zoom-boing
    Offline

    Zoom-boing Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    25,061
    Thanks Received:
    7,260
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Location:
    East Japip
    Ratings:
    +10,120
    I don't need a tuner but I do need the coaxial in and out and my impression was that I would only find them on a player with a tuner. The sample model I used (above) comes with HDMI even though I don't need/use it.

    My son, 17 special needs, is totally into action movies. Which is fine (depending on the movie) except that so many of them are just filled with really nasty language. I'm not a prude or anything and if he was a 'regular' kid . . . but he isn't. Anyway, there's a device called the TV Guardian that filters out the language via the closed caption codes. They don't make them anymore but I found one on ebay. But I use it on the dvd player not the tv and in order to make that work, I need the coaxial in and out connections on the dvd player. I run the cable out of the dvd player (Comcast box is run in to the player) and into an a/b video switch with two inputs and one output that goes to the tv. The other input is for the TV Guardian. When the dvd player is on and you flip the switch, viola! the language is filtered out.

    This whole digital thing is great for the quality of the pics but sucky for folks like me who like to record stuff and watch it later. Yeah, yeah I do Sidereel and all but . . . . sometimes I don't want to watch it on the computer, you know? We have Comcast On Demand box and a dvd recorder. Guess what? Now I can't record one channel while watching another channel. So I rigged up the Comcast box utilizing a splitter, a dta box (from Comcast), and an a/b video switch. Problem fixed!

    So anywayyyy .. . . how do I know from the description if the unit has coaxial in and out? I've spent a good portion of the day scouring the internet . . .not a lot out there. I'm ending up hunting down the manuals on line to see if they provide a pic of the back of the unit. Oy. I did find the player we have in our family room (Toshiba dr560) for about $110 but it's factory refurbished and was wondering if anyone had ever bought a factory refurbished dvd recorder.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2010
  6. Zoom-boing
    Offline

    Zoom-boing Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    25,061
    Thanks Received:
    7,260
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Location:
    East Japip
    Ratings:
    +10,120
    25!
     
  7. ConHog
    Offline

    ConHog BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14,538
    Thanks Received:
    897
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +897
    Hmmm, Odd. I just looked on there website and they show the tvguardian as having COMPOSITE cables , not coaxial , are they yellow, red.white? three wires? or one old style round plug type?

    in EITHER case, just buy the dvd burner you want and if you need to you can buy a coaxial to composite converter, and ALL dvd burners have composite cables at a minimum. Any decent radio shack will be able to help you out there if need be, but my local wal mart actually stocks the converter.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  8. Zoom-boing
    Offline

    Zoom-boing Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    25,061
    Thanks Received:
    7,260
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Location:
    East Japip
    Ratings:
    +10,120
    The model I have has the RCA cables -- red, white, yellow (are they also called composite cables?) and a coaxial out. I bought this a couple of years ago off of ebay. The RCA cables hook into the dvd player and the coaxial cable hooks into the a/b video switch. I got the idea for the a/b video switch from rigging up the family room system. Honestly, I just guessed in hooking the TVG up and it works. What I really wish is for Comcast to incorporate the TVG into their parental controls. That would solve everything.

    I didn't know that they made a coaxial to composite converter . . . or is that the same thing as an RF modulator? If I can figure out how to hook the TVG up to the dvd player in a different way I might look into this.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2010
  9. ConHog
    Offline

    ConHog BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    14,538
    Thanks Received:
    897
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +897
    Okay , after a little more research, this is what you need to do.

    there is in fact no need for splitter or a converter. the guardian itself has two sets of composite input/outputs. You can daisy chain a tv box and a dvd player into the guardian and then out to the tv. Unless you have an ancient ass tv that doesnt have composit in jacks.

    coaxial into your satellite? box. RCA from satellite out to dvd in, dvd composite out to TV guardian composite in. TV Guardian composite out to composite tv in. Then tune TV to rear 1 or front 1 or whatever channel the RCA ins are lableed as. tune dvd to rear RCA or whatever RCAs that satellite is plugged into to watch watch tv and change channels with satellite? remote. or conversely play dvd. TV guardian will now operate correctly on all inputs
     
  10. Zoom-boing
    Offline

    Zoom-boing Gold Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    25,061
    Thanks Received:
    7,260
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Location:
    East Japip
    Ratings:
    +10,120
    Hey thanks for this. I'm going to try this on what we have now and if it works, then my options for a dvd recorder just opened up. Wait, where do I plug in the Wii? Ok and I also thought that you had to use the coaxial if it was on the dvd player. So I can just use the red/white/yellow as the connection for everything, as long as the coaxial is coming from the wall into the digital (Comcast) box. Is that right? If I wanted the TVG just on the dvd player . . . coaxial into comcast box, RCA out of box into TVG, RCA out of TVG into dvd player, RCA out of dvd player into tv. Would that work? That might work. The TVG has to be in front of the device you want it to work on. Since I use Comcast's parental controls on the tv, I'm not too concerned about the language on the shows allowed; I just want it to work on the dvd player. Kind of just rambling here, thinking/typing out loud.

    Are RCA (red, white, yellow) the same thing as composite?

    eta, ok another thought. If I set it up the way you suggested or the way I suggested, can I still record onto the dvd recorder or does there need to be a coaxial connection between the Comcast box and the dvd recorder? If yes, just an "in" connection on the dvd recorder from the Comcast box?
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2010

Share This Page