Can't Load USMB from Home Computer????

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Caroljo, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. Caroljo
    Offline

    Caroljo Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,596
    Thanks Received:
    1,175
    Trophy Points:
    200
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +1,337
    I'm hoping someone can help me out with this...last week all of a sudden i was unable to get on USMB from my home computer. I can (of course) get here from my computer at work, but not from home. It just times out and then asks if i've put in the right web address. I've tried typing it in, going through a search engine to get here..nothing works. I normally use Firefox, but i also have Google Chrome and that didn't work either, so i'm assuming it's some setting on my computer? Any ideas???? I can't figure out why it just all of a sudden did this!!
     
  2. Mini 14
    Offline

    Mini 14 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    3,947
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +570
    The site is AWFUL in the early morning. There are days I just give up waiting on it to respond before 7am. I don't know if the server reboots, or the services and db's compact and rebuild then, but there are mornings when it is pointless to try and post or read.

    But it sounds like your problem is likely due to an update being applied that has screwed up your settings. If you're running Windows, you could try restoring to a point before the problems started and see if that solves it. It also *could* be some sort of virus, but you would notice the same problem with other sites as well, or other strange behaviors.

    I would try restoring first, then go from there.
     
  3. zzzz
    Offline

    zzzz Just a regular American

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,072
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Location:
    Yountsville
    Ratings:
    +429
    You might clean up your temp files too, especially your internet temp files. There might be a conflict with one of the temp files when you are trying to open USMB.
     
  4. mudwhistle
    Online

    mudwhistle Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    65,199
    Thanks Received:
    11,915
    Trophy Points:
    2,070
    Location:
    Wetwang With Fimber, Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +26,156
    Firefox is a pain in the ass if you forget to exit properly. It remembers the last windows you had open and reloads them. My suggestion is make sure your registry doesn't have any errors and maybe you need to clean all of the clutter out as well.
     
  5. Ringel05
    Online

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40,148
    Thanks Received:
    7,996
    Trophy Points:
    1,830
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +17,252
  6. Caroljo
    Offline

    Caroljo Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,596
    Thanks Received:
    1,175
    Trophy Points:
    200
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +1,337
    Thanks Mini...i'll try that when i get home!
     
  7. Caroljo
    Offline

    Caroljo Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,596
    Thanks Received:
    1,175
    Trophy Points:
    200
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +1,337
    This i did do...cleaned up all history, cookies, everything...it still didn't work. But thanks!!
     
  8. Caroljo
    Offline

    Caroljo Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,596
    Thanks Received:
    1,175
    Trophy Points:
    200
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +1,337
  9. Ringel05
    Online

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40,148
    Thanks Received:
    7,996
    Trophy Points:
    1,830
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +17,252
    Is it just the USMB or is it every site? If it's really slow across the board you could have a couple of issues, ethernet card could be going bad, corrupted or out of date bios files controlling communication ports, picked up a virus or your computer has become a BOT.
     
  10. Caroljo
    Offline

    Caroljo Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,596
    Thanks Received:
    1,175
    Trophy Points:
    200
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +1,337
    It's only this site! That's what i don't get...why would it all of a sudden just stop loading only this one??? When i try to get here, at the bottom instead of saying "waiting for" the site to load, it says "looking for". Then the Page cannot be displayed" comes up.
    Backing it up didn't work...so i'm going to try the site you gave me to try cleaning it up! Thanks!
     

Share This Page