A Frozen Screen

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Wiseacre, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. Wiseacre
    Offline

    Wiseacre Retired USAF Chief Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6,025
    Thanks Received:
    1,192
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,194
    I have a couple of laptops and an eMachines desktop PC, has Windows 7 on it. It will totally freeze up at various times, and I got no clue if it's hardware or software. The laptops don't do it, it just freezes and you can't do anything but reboot. Any ideas?
     
  2. L.K.Eder
    Offline

    L.K.Eder unbannable non-troll

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    20,294
    Thanks Received:
    3,607
    Trophy Points:
    280
    Location:
    theartching thapphireth
    Ratings:
    +6,778
    install ubuntu
     
  3. L.K.Eder
    Offline

    L.K.Eder unbannable non-troll

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    20,294
    Thanks Received:
    3,607
    Trophy Points:
    280
    Location:
    theartching thapphireth
    Ratings:
    +6,778

    disregard my "advice". that is just what i post in the computer section randomly.

    i cannot help you with your problem.
     
  4. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40,225
    Thanks Received:
    8,004
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +17,328
    Deicer......
     
  5. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40,225
    Thanks Received:
    8,004
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +17,328
    More input Stephanie........
    Did it come with Win7 or did you upgrade? Did you recently do an update? How old is the machine? Is it a dual core, quad core, P4 chipset? On board graphics or is there a separate graphics card?
     
  6. percysunshine
    Offline

    percysunshine Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    16,673
    Thanks Received:
    2,260
    Trophy Points:
    280
    Location:
    Sty
    Ratings:
    +5,842
    A) Report your computer to attackwatch.com

    B) Speak softly to it and lightly stroke the inside of its knees with your fingers.

    C) Find a tall building and let gravity do its job.
     
  7. zzzz
    Offline

    zzzz Just a regular American

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,072
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Location:
    Yountsville
    Ratings:
    +429
    Mine freezes when the Norton does background tasks. I have set it not to do it for 20 minutes but cannot turn it off. So if you have Norton it might be that.

    Needless to say but I am not re upping for Norton. Worst mistake you make is to get that.
     
  8. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40,225
    Thanks Received:
    8,004
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +17,328
    Mint 11.......... :eusa_whistle:
     
  9. PeteEU
    Offline

    PeteEU VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Malaga region, Spain
    Ratings:
    +54
    Frozen computers can be anything really. However a common one is people installing two anti-virus programs... baddddddd idea.

    I am actually having a similar problem with a laptop I am fixing. Now the guy who owns the laptop had installed two anti-virus which of course caused the freezing.

    However there is still something wrong with the machine since the graphics card driver crashes also.. yes it is a sick puppy. Since the graphics card is a known problem child from Nvidia (old 9300 chip) then I suspect it is that... but... The machine has Windows 7 on it, which normally would not be a problem if it was not for the fact that the machine is an older Medion machine. Medion has a history of buying cheap ass parts (the thing has only 160 GB harddrive...) and not updating their drivers or telling people where to get new drivers.... which means no windows 7 drivers at all for this laptop model.. And since the machine came with a Vista installed with the correct drivers, then the whole problem set could simply be a driver issue of some sort.. we shall see.

    Point I am trying to make is... the only way often you can figure out "freezing", "lagging" and so on issues, is by trial and error since it is in 9 out of 10 times 3rd party programs causing the problems... and good luck on figuring out which program. In fact I have had a machine (in the 1990s) freeze and do BSODs because of a faulty CD drive... but did it tell me that it was that? of course not.

    This is the check list I normally follow on "freezing", lagging and BSOD. After each check, see if the problem has gone away.

    1. Check for double anti-virus.
    1a. Check which kind of anti-virus... Norton and McAfee can be problematic and should be removed as a test at some point. It can also simply be that the anti-virus is too aggressive in its scanning.
    1b. Make sure the anti-virus is not fake.. googling the name often provides enough information to make that assessment if you are unsure.
    2. Check for iTunes... can really screw up a system... remove
    3. Check for "free bars".. google, yahoo and so on and remove
    4. Check for Ashampoo programs.. remove.. or in general other suspect free programs.. they usually also install some sort of "cool" bar in your browser
    5. Run Malwarebytes (Mallwarebytes.com) for malware, spyware, crapware.
    6. Update drivers.
    7. CTR ALT DEL and get into task manager and see what is using a lot of memory and/or CPU power.
    8. Memory scan (Windows 7 has such a program else there are a few on the net).

    If nothing of this works.. then reinstall since you have wasted enough time. If the problem is still there after reinstall and before you start installing anything, then you know it is a hardware problem.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  10. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40,225
    Thanks Received:
    8,004
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +17,328
    Ummmmm,
    1. I use 2 anti-viruses on all my computers and have never had an issue.
    1b.. No they are not Norton or McAfee, I refuse to use them.
    2. That's why I don't use iTunes.
    3 & 4 Pay attention when loading opensource and you'll never have a problem with "free" bars.
    4. I use Ashampoo all the time, just not their security software, again, no issues.
    5. Definitely.
    7. Yes but most won't know what their looking at.
    8. Yeah but only to find out if you have a bad memory stick but that can be done by right clicking my computer then properties.

    9. Turn off automatic updates and set for "notify me".

    Personally the third thing I'd do is a system restore prior to the last update, It sounds like a software generated hardware conflict or a bad driver that most likely is due to an update.
    As for hardware problems, if it's a add on Graphics card then switch to the on board graphics, if that fixes it then replace the card. If it's the hard drive (which in this case I doubt) then boot into BIOs and look for a diagnostic program, many computers now have them in BIOs. Run the diagnostic and if any errors are found then Google the error and it will tell you what the problem is.
    After switching the video feed the diagnostic is the second thing I'd do.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2011

Share This Page