testing ... one .. two .. three

Discussion in 'Announcements and Feedback' started by masquerade, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. masquerade
    Offline

    masquerade positivity

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,508
    Thanks Received:
    1,261
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    right of center
    Ratings:
    +1,261
    Don't mind me.
    I needed a place to practice hyperlinking.

    I've tried doing this in another thread, but bombed big TIME.
    Could it be that this particular message board works differently than others. Or could it be that my directions from long ago were copied incorrectly.

    Well, I've witnessed some of you being able to link a story or whatever, and be able to type in your own words for the link. You know, instead of the url.

    Test 1

    <a href="http://www.politico.com/news/stories/0310/34051.html"target=new>test 1</a>
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  2. masquerade
    Offline

    masquerade positivity

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,508
    Thanks Received:
    1,261
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    right of center
    Ratings:
    +1,261
  3. masquerade
    Offline

    masquerade positivity

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,508
    Thanks Received:
    1,261
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    right of center
    Ratings:
    +1,261
    Is there anyone on these boards who is willing to help me out with hyperlinking?

    Please?
    Pretty please with sugar on top?
     
  4. Valerie
    Offline

    Valerie Gold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    24,624
    Thanks Received:
    5,980
    Trophy Points:
    290
    Ratings:
    +10,295


    I'm not sure what you mean but I wonder what's wrong with the way it works already?

    As in, the link you provided above already works, so what's the difference/purpose?
     
  5. masquerade
    Offline

    masquerade positivity

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,508
    Thanks Received:
    1,261
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    right of center
    Ratings:
    +1,261
    There's nothing wrong with the way the links work already. My question is for aesthetic reasons only. Say for instance I want to throw a pic into my post somewhere. Instead of it looking horrible with the url link, I could type my own words in. My post would look better and flow easier.
     
  6. L.K.Eder
    Offline

    L.K.Eder unbannable non-troll

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    20,297
    Thanks Received:
    3,607
    Trophy Points:
    280
    Location:
    theartching thapphireth
    Ratings:
    +6,780
    whatevertextyouwantthelinktohave

    HTML:
    [url=http://www.whateveryouwanttolink.com]whatevertextyouwantthelinktohave [/url]
    example

    Link to your post

    HTML:
    [url=http://www.usmessageboard.com/announcements-and-feedback/108330-testing-one-two-three.html#post2074958]Link to your post[/url]
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. Dante
    Offline

    Dante On leave Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    52,463
    Thanks Received:
    3,324
    Trophy Points:
    1,825
    Location:
    On leave
    Ratings:
    +6,054
    there is a WYSIWYG window with most browsers. what are you using? what Operating system?

    the windows have letters and symbols/buttons
    one symbol/button looks like a ball and chain or an anchor. when you use it it does the coding for you.


    you are using html code. forums run on software that uses code a little differently.

    the < > that you are used to using are for html pages.

    you would normally put: a href=http://wwww.namehere.com between the < >

    then you'd have text: link here...

    then you'd close off your < > with </a>

    < >text</>
    ==============

    some forum software use [ ] brackets in place of < >

    they also use url= in place of a href=

    some use < > with url= and some use [ ] with url=

    ===============


    here you use [ ] with url= with text in between sets of brackets [ ]text here[/ ]

    here of course the sets of brackets have url= and /url inside of the sets of brackets [ ] text here [/ ]

    ==================


    example:

    [ url=http://beatmyheadagainstthewalldotcom ]beat the heat [/ url]


    here I got rid of the spaces in the above example, and I put a period [ . ] in place of 'dot' beat the heat...


    =====

    I know this is a bit much, but I do not know what you know or don't know. So I tried covering a few bases with explanations. hope it helps.

    if not, eat shit and die.

    :lol:
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2010
  8. Dante
    Offline

    Dante On leave Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    52,463
    Thanks Received:
    3,324
    Trophy Points:
    1,825
    Location:
    On leave
    Ratings:
    +6,054
    [​IMG]
    I wonder...hmm...click here...anywhere...
     
  9. Dante
    Offline

    Dante On leave Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    52,463
    Thanks Received:
    3,324
    Trophy Points:
    1,825
    Location:
    On leave
    Ratings:
    +6,054
    You can post a pict in a post without a url link showing. What is it you are saying? Do you want a pict to be in place of text or text in place of a pict?

    when posting a pict, there is no url link showing, ugly or not
     
  10. xotoxi
    Offline

    xotoxi Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    30,322
    Thanks Received:
    5,203
    Trophy Points:
    1,110
    Location:
    your mother
    Ratings:
    +5,492
    1. Copy the URL that you want onto the clipboard.
    2. Type the text that you want.
    3. Highlight that text.
    4. Click the icon that looks like the earth with a chain link in front of it.
    5. Paste the URL.
    6. Rinse.
    7. Repeat.
     

Share This Page