Tax increases; Unemployment; Benefits; Welfare; Politics........

Discussion in 'Politics' started by bucs90, Dec 6, 2010.

1. bucs90

bucs90 Gold Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +19,210
    Just returned from a not so wonderful trip to Atlanta. Went to watch SEC champ game, wasn't a good game. Was very cold outside. Thought global warming was supposed to fix that. Anyway......

While there I visited an old aquaintance. As I said, I worked as a police ofc at APD years ago. Had a store owner near Jonesboro who I became friends with, mostly after responding to calls in the area, and his store's coffee was always fresh.

Anyway, I went in to say hi, and he was working the cash register. Which was odd:eusa_eh:

A brief history.....he usually employs 10-15 part timers. He offers them 40 hours, but none take it. I asked him why? He said none want full time w/ benefits, b/c if they did, they'd be booted off welfare, food stamps, free housing and free healthcare from gov't. BUT they needed to show social services an attempt at employment, so 1-2 shifts a week is all they wanted. Go figure.

So I said "Hey, why are you on the register? An employee quit?"

And he said "Yeah, they always do, just this time I haven't hired replacements." I asked why not, since he has to work the shift himself now? "Because man, my taxes might be getting jacked up in January. Gotta wait and see if I can afford it."

And there you have it. He is a private owner of this business (a gas station/restaurant type biz). He lives comfortably. Not a millionaire. But he owns a boat and a couple cars, has a nice family he speaks of. He could hire that employee, and if taxes go up, just sell a boat or car to make it equal. But he won't.

And meanwhile, more employees will bitch about benefits the gov't wont give them......while refusing to work 40 hours delivering pizzas or any other job that is available, but just dont feel like doing.

2. RDD_1210

RDD_1210 Forms his own opinions