Student of Ideologies - Hello!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by TimelessConserv, Jul 8, 2009.

1. TimelessConserv

TimelessConserv Rookie

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone,

I'm just a college student who wants to deepen my understanding of ideologies. I don't hide the fact that I am conservative, but I do believe I am one of the "relatively" open-minded conservatives. I don't follow the news and current events as much as I read ancient philosophers. I imagine people on these boards frown upon the labeling of people's views, but here are my pathetically optimistic reasons for joining these message boards:
    1. To better understand the ideology of liberalism.
    2. To become more nuanced / balanced / fair in my thinking
    3. To have this community weed out my weakest thoughts
    4. To have thoughtful members of these boards change my mind on certain issues. Perhaps in a year I'll have to sign up as a new user named "TimelessLiberal."

I do have a website, but it only has a few articles/posts so far. I hope to write more in the following weeks. So far I have an article (dialogue) about Gay Marriage, and one about College and Conservatives. Visit timelessconservative.blogspot.com if you feel like reading amateur philosophy/politics.

Thanks for reading,
    I hope to see you around these boards,
    ----
    Timeless Conservative

Last edited: Jul 8, 2009
  2. Kalam

Kalam Senior Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +773
    Welcome, TC.

3. American Horse

American Horse AKA "Mustang"

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +938
    I read your essay "College professors do not understand conservatism" and Jonathan Haidt's "What makes people vote Republican" with interest.