Putting 35-mm Slide Images Onto Disk

Discussion in 'Photography and Imaging' started by George Costanza, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. George Costanza
    Offline

    George Costanza A Friendly Liberal

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,179
    Thanks Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Location:
    Los Angeles area.
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    I have over 4,000, 35-mm slides, most of them taken in the 1950's and 1960's. They are taking up a huge amount of storage space. We have decided to put them all on disk.

    I got a little doo-dad that accomplished this - you plug it in, put three slides at a time in the slider, slide it through and capture the image of each slide on a chip. When you have as many on the chip as you want, you run to your computer and put them onto your hard disk, from whence you can transfer them to storage CD's, etc.

    OK - I have created folders on my hard drive. The main folder is Slides (C:/Slides). Under Slides, I have sub-folders for each of the years involved, 1951, 1952, etc. When I load slide images onto the chip, they go on there in sequential numbering, starting with 001. So let's say I load 45 slide images onto the chip, all for 1951. I go to the computer and move them into the sub-folder for 1951. I then clear the chip (format it) and go back to my doo-dad for more.

    Here is where the problem comes up. There are a lot more than just 45 slides for 1951. So I load another batch onto the chip, return to the computer and attempt to move them into the 1951 sub-folder as well. However, the images on the chip are, once again, numbered sequentially, starting with 001 - so I get a message telling me: "An image with the number 001 already exists - do you want to overwrite it?" Well, obviously, I do not want to overwrite it.

    My temporary solution is to make sub-folders under 1951 which are labeled "Group 1," "Group 2," and so forth. That way, I can get all of the slides under 1951 that should go there. But I am not satisfied with that. In the first place, there is no sequential order to the slide images. I suppose I could sit down and get them all arranged sequentially before I even begin copying them onto the chip with the doo-dad, but that seems like a horrible amount of work.

    I know I can rename the file names for each slide and give them new numbers, but that is REALLY out of the question due to time constraints.

    Has anyone else every been confronted with this problem and, if so, were you able to figure out a quick, efficient and effective way to solve it?
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2010
  2. uscitizen
    Offline

    uscitizen Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    45,941
    Thanks Received:
    4,791
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    My Shack
    Ratings:
    +4,807
    Use a bigger chip
     
  3. Midnight Marauder
    Offline

    Midnight Marauder BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12,404
    Thanks Received:
    1,876
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1,876
    That's not his problem.
     
  4. dilloduck
    Offline

    dilloduck Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    53,240
    Thanks Received:
    5,552
    Trophy Points:
    1,850
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +6,403
    Other than the labeling problem, how are ya liking that doo dad ?---I getting tempted to buy one to do the same with some old family slides.
     
  5. Midnight Marauder
    Offline

    Midnight Marauder BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12,404
    Thanks Received:
    1,876
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +1,876
    Seems like you need to use "find/replace" after highlighting all of the mis-named files, right-clicking "rename" and either adding a zero or another number. Example, "001" in this case would be "1001" and so on. The rest of the files would have a 1 before their original name.
     
  6. George Costanza
    Offline

    George Costanza A Friendly Liberal

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,179
    Thanks Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Location:
    Los Angeles area.
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    Can't. The doo-dad only has one chip slot and only one size chip (the small one) fits into it. Do they have adapters, which would allow me to use a bigger chip?
     
  7. George Costanza
    Offline

    George Costanza A Friendly Liberal

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,179
    Thanks Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Location:
    Los Angeles area.
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    Actually, if I could use a bigger chip, it might solve my problem because, then, I could load one entire year onto the chip before moving the images from the chip to the computer.
     
  8. George Costanza
    Offline

    George Costanza A Friendly Liberal

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,179
    Thanks Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Location:
    Los Angeles area.
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    Yes, but this is just renaming all of the files and, as I mentioned above, with so many slide images, this might take way too much time. If there was a way of renaming (i.e., renumbering) a big batch of files all at once, that might be something. For example, if I could select, say, a group of images that are numbered 001 through 045 and, by renumbering the first one as whatever would be next in order - 076, let's say - all of the rest of the files would automatically be renumbered in sequence, starting with 076, that would work. But I don't think that can be done. I think you have to do each one individually.
     
  9. George Costanza
    Offline

    George Costanza A Friendly Liberal

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,179
    Thanks Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Location:
    Los Angeles area.
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    I like it. You do three slides at a time and can move along fairly rapidly. The quality of what ends up on your computer is not as good as I would like, but it is passable. Remember, these are very, very old slides. Also, I am not the most computer/digital image literate guy in the world. I'll get better at it as I go along.

    I got the doo-dad as a Christmas gift. I'm at the office right now, so I can't tell you the brand name. If you like, I can provide it when I get home. But go to Hammacher-Schlemmer and search for slide converters or similar phrase. I know they have several there.

    GC
     
  10. THE LIGHT
    Offline

    THE LIGHT Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,030
    Thanks Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Location:
    Under His Wings in the Shadow of the Almighty!
    Ratings:
    +301
    If you have Adobe Photoshop you can run them through batch convert and have them renamed in a jiffy. If you don't have PS, I am sure that many of the other photo editing software packages have some sort of batch function in them. I know Canon's Digital Photo Professional (freeware) does.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2010

Share This Page