How important is energy independence?

Discussion in 'Clean Debate Zone' started by Some Guy, Aug 31, 2012.

1. Some Guy

Some Guy Deregulated User

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +380
    Mitt brought this up in his speech last night. I'd like to hear some views on this. I'm not an expert, but to me, it seems incredibly important. We're sending billions overseas to countries that would prefer to see us wiped off the map. We're putting millions into green energy initiatives that don't seem close to being able to support the energy demand of this country all alone.

I'm definitely in favor of green energy, but until it can stand on it's own without being artificially propped up via government policy and regulation to limit the production of traditional means (coal, gas, etc), we need to be actively allowing domestic companies to produce and supply coal, gas, nuclear, etc, responsibly of course.

What say you?

• Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  2. martybegan

martybegan Gold Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +10,985
    Until some form of power storage more efficent then current batteries or using multi-level fluid potential energy storage than intermittent forms of power such as solar and wind will never be able to take over a portion of our grid's base load.

The big holdout is fusion power, which always seems to be "25 years away." Until then for electrical generation fission based nuclear using the most modern type of reactor possible is the only way to preserve out stocks of fossil fuels.

We should be exploiting our own stocks of fossils as much as possible, along with research into the areas above.

3. Intense

Intense Senior Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +5,863