Fed Employees - Friday 11 June

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by dmp, Jun 7, 2004.

  1. dmp

    dmp Senior Member

    May 12, 2004
    Thanks Received:
    Trophy Points:
    Enterprise, Alabama
    In case you missed it:


    President Bush orders agencies closed Friday to honor Reagan

    President Bush has ordered that federal agencies across the country close on Friday, June 11, to honor Ronald Reagan.

    Reagan, the 40th president of the United States, died Saturday at the age of 93. Friday has been designated a national day of mourning for the former president.

    In an executive order issued Sunday, Bush ordered "all executive departments, independent establishments, and other governmental agencies" closed on Friday "as a mark of respect for Ronald Reagan."

    The order does not apply to offices that agency heads determine must stay open for national security reasons.

    Office of Personnel Management Director Kay Coles James notified Cabinet secretaries, agency heads and chief human capital officers governmentwide about the closure shortly after President Bush signed the executive order.

    Reagan will lie in state at the United States Capitol beginning Wednesday evening. After funeral services in Washington on Friday, he will be laid to rest in California.


    Executive Order Providing for the Closing of Government Departments and Agencies on June 11, 2004

    By the authority vested in me as President by the Constitution and laws of the United States of America, it is hereby ordered as follows:

    Section 1. All executive departments, independent establishments, and other governmental agencies shall be closed on June 11, 2004, as a mark of respect for Ronald Reagan, the fortieth President of the United States. That day shall be considered as falling within the scope of Executive Order 11582 of February 11, 1971, and of 5 U.S.C. 5546 and 6103(b) and other similar statutes insofar as they relate to the pay and leave of employees of the United States.

    Sec. 2. The first sentence of section 1 of this order shall not apply to those offices and installations, or parts thereof, in the Department of State, the Department of Defense, the Department of Justice, the Department of Homeland Security, or other departments, independent establishments, and governmental agencies that the heads thereof determine should remain open for reasons of national security or defense or other essential public business.

    June 6, 2004.

Share This Page