cant get into chat. says i need to install plugins

Discussion in 'Computers' started by sarahgop, Apr 3, 2012.

  1. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,104
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Trophy Points:
    130
    Ratings:
    +1,701
    should i update to the latest java? says i need to install plugins.
     
  2. Ropey
    Offline

    Ropey Rainy Days and Mondays Always Get Me Up Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42,967
    Thanks Received:
    6,732
    Trophy Points:
    1,870
    Ratings:
    +16,816
  3. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,104
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Trophy Points:
    130
    Ratings:
    +1,701
    i uninstalled the old java and installed the latest version and still the same thing. i got a link about malware but that didnt help

    its really messed up. this moring i couldnt get into chat and it said i needed to install a plug in. when i did chat worked but then my anti virus started to have a bunch of malicious sites it said it was blocking. the chat then stops working. will the link you gave me fix it?

    i clicked a malware fix link and it fixed 100 errors but left 436. is there another link?
     
  4. Ropey
    Offline

    Ropey Rainy Days and Mondays Always Get Me Up Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42,967
    Thanks Received:
    6,732
    Trophy Points:
    1,870
    Ratings:
    +16,816
  5. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,104
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Trophy Points:
    130
    Ratings:
    +1,701
    thanks. that link looks different from the other one. thanks my good friend. i will try it in the morning. one further question. i found where the hidden partition is. if i choose that option and wipe things clean when i download firefox will it have my favorites still there?
     
  6. Ropey
    Offline

    Ropey Rainy Days and Mondays Always Get Me Up Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42,967
    Thanks Received:
    6,732
    Trophy Points:
    1,870
    Ratings:
    +16,816
    I don't know if you have a non-destructive option so it's best to save them to an external drive imo.

    Firefox Help - Firefox Bookmarks Tutorial***(The Mozilla Help Site)

    Do you have a flash thumb drive or some external drive?

    If so, follow the bookmark export instructions from Mozilla instructions.
     
  7. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,104
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Trophy Points:
    130
    Ratings:
    +1,701
    i clicked the link. its the same thing.
     
  8. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,104
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Trophy Points:
    130
    Ratings:
    +1,701
    i think it is different. wish me luck
     
  9. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,104
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Trophy Points:
    130
    Ratings:
    +1,701
    i did a quick scan and it found 1 infected object and i removed it. was that a virus? now i am doing a full scan.
     
  10. Ropey
    Offline

    Ropey Rainy Days and Mondays Always Get Me Up Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    42,967
    Thanks Received:
    6,732
    Trophy Points:
    1,870
    Ratings:
    +16,816
    It's likely some form of malware. What program are you using for an Anti-Virus?
     

Share This Page