Feb 13, 2013
Lost
An Open Letter to Khizr Khan

An Open Letter to Khizr Khan July 31, 2016

Posted by Chris Mark in Uncategorized.
Tags: Army, DNC, Humayan, Kahn, Khizr, Muslims, Navy, Trump, USMC
trackback
Dear Mr. Khan,

I want to preface this letter by stating that I respect your sonā€™s sacrifice for this great nation. By all accounts, he is a true hero that sacrificed himself in service to our country. For that I am thankful.

As a veteran, I watched your comments at the Democratic National Convention with a mixture of sadness, and anger. The United States has a military comprised of volunteers. Every single member has made the conscious choice to join the military and serve. There is not a single service member who has been forced into service. It is important for all service members (and apparently, their families) to understand that service to this great nation does not imbue one with special privileges or rights. I found your comments troubling when you said: ā€œHave you ever been to Arlington cemetery? Go look at the graves of brave patriots who died defending the United States of America. You will see all faiths, genders and ethnicities. You have sacrificed nothing and no one.ā€

Does it matter whether Mr. Trump has sacrificed ā€œā€¦nothing and no one?ā€ā€¦has Ms. Clinton ā€œ..sacrificedā€ for this nation? How about Mr. Obama? Your comment stating that Mr. Trump ā€œā€¦has sacrifice no oneā€ is alarming. Are you intimating that YOU sacrificed? Sir, your son willingly sacrificed himself. As a father I cannot imagine the pain you must feel but his sacrifice is his own. He was not forced to serve.