Text Input Pauses During Text Entry

Discussion in 'Computers' started by George Costanza, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. George Costanza
    Offline

    George Costanza A Friendly Liberal

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,179
    Thanks Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Location:
    Los Angeles area.
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    This is a strange problem. As you know, we have two, identical computers, sharing the same printer on a wireless network. Both computer are Vista Home.

    This only happens on my wife's computer. She will be inputting text. It can be in her word processor or it can be composing an email in AOL (Internet server). She will be going along just fine and then, all of a sudden, everything comes to a halt. She has to wait a minute or so for the computer to get it together, and then she can continue. In the meantime, if she tries to input any text, it won't do it. If she types some text during the "pause period," when things finally snap back into working order, the text she entered during the pause period does not appear.

    I would be interested to hear some theories on what this might be. I have a theory, but I don't want to influence input, so I'll shut up and wait to see if you guys can come up with anything.
     
  2. Bezukhov
    Offline

    Bezukhov Anarcho-Capitalist

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Providence, R.I.
    Ratings:
    +19
    It sounds like a driver problem to me. Perhaps there was an update to the driver that was installed on your computer but not hers.
     
  3. PLYMCO_PILGRIM
    Offline

    PLYMCO_PILGRIM Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    17,416
    Thanks Received:
    2,855
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Location:
    America's Home Town
    Ratings:
    +2,863
    Sounds like a device(hardware) conflict.

    Have you ever got the blue screen of death on it?

    Are there other issues?
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  4. George Costanza
    Offline

    George Costanza A Friendly Liberal

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,179
    Thanks Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Location:
    Los Angeles area.
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    No other issues. I can't imagine what piece of hardware could be in conflict. The hardware on each of our computers is identical, and my computer works just fine. Never saw the blue screen of death.

    It acts like a memory problem, but she has fourteen million gigs of memory in there, as we all do on the newer rigs.
     
  5. George Costanza
    Offline

    George Costanza A Friendly Liberal

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5,179
    Thanks Received:
    1,087
    Trophy Points:
    155
    Location:
    Los Angeles area.
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    Driver for what - the printer? Same driver on her rig as mine, and mine works fine.
     
  6. Dante
    Offline

    Dante On leave Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    52,463
    Thanks Received:
    3,324
    Trophy Points:
    1,825
    Location:
    On leave
    Ratings:
    +6,054
    I get the BSOD, a black screen and my keyboard/touch pad area gets pretty hot to the touch when the other problems come up.

    what is it? hardware issue?
     
  7. PLYMCO_PILGRIM
    Offline

    PLYMCO_PILGRIM Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    17,416
    Thanks Received:
    2,855
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Location:
    America's Home Town
    Ratings:
    +2,863
    Maybe the keyboard is plugged in loose, lol.

    Imagine if it was :lol:
     
  8. The T
    Offline

    The T George S. Patton Party Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48,072
    Thanks Received:
    5,473
    Trophy Points:
    1,773
    Location:
    What USED TO BE A REPUBLIC RUN BY TYRANTS
    Ratings:
    +5,502
    I'd take a look and see what other programs/processes are running in the background. Check your Windows Task Manager.
     
  9. The T
    Offline

    The T George S. Patton Party Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48,072
    Thanks Received:
    5,473
    Trophy Points:
    1,773
    Location:
    What USED TO BE A REPUBLIC RUN BY TYRANTS
    Ratings:
    +5,502
    The easiest way to get to the Task Manager is to press Ctrl+Shift+Escape.

    Hope this helps.
     
  10. editec
    Offline

    editec Mr. Forgot-it-All

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    41,427
    Thanks Received:
    5,598
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +5,618
    HSA needs to update their keystroke tracking software, I expect.
     

Share This Page